LINE

Help

Friend Recommendation Settings

How friend recommendations work toggle
A user may be displayed in your friend recommendations because:
• They have your phone number saved in their contacts and are also using LINE (but you don't have their number in your contacts).
• They knew your LINE ID and added you by searching for it on LINE.
• They were in a group or multi-person chat with you, and added you from the member list.
• A friend of yours sent your contact info to them in a chat, and they added you.
Note: If your contact information was shared, the user will only be able to see your LINE display name, profile photo, and status message.
• They added you using the URL in an invite email, or using your QR code.

If a user from your friend recommendations added you as a friend, the method they used will appear in the following cases:
• They added you using your phone number.
• They added you using your QR code.
• They added you using your LINE ID.

The way a user added you will not be displayed in the following cases:
• They were in a group with you and added you from it.
• They got your contact info from another one of your friends and added you.

If you have “Auto-add friends” turned on, and someone in your contacts is displayed under your friend recommendations, it means they have the following settings configured
Auto-add friends: ON
Allow others to add me: OFF

The name that appears for a user under your friend recommendations is the name they set on LINE. If an unfamiliar name appears under your friend recommendations, the only way to confirm who they are is to ask them directly.

Was this page helpful?

Yes No

Preventing others from adding you toggle

If you do not want to be automatically added as a friend by someone who has your phone number, please follow the steps below. 

Note: These steps will not affect existing friends.

1. Go to More > Settings.
2. Tap Friends.
3. Turn OFF Allow Others to Add.


Tap here to open the Settings menu from your smartphone.

Was this page helpful?

Yes No

Preventing ID search toggle

To prevent others from searching for your ID, please follow the steps below:


1. Go to More > Settings > Profile.
2. Turn OFF Allow Others to Add by ID.


Tap here to access the Profile menu from your smartphone.

Was this page helpful?

Yes No

Filtering messages from non-friends toggle

To filter messages from users who are not your friends, please follow the steps below:


1. Go to More > Settings.
2. Tap Privacy.
3. Turn ON Filter Messages.


Tap here to open the Settings menu from your smartphone.

Was this page helpful?

Yes No

Blocking users who appear under your friend recommendations toggle
You can block users on your Friend Recommendations list using the steps below:

1. Go to More > Add Friends.
2. Tap the user you wish to block.
3. Tap Block.

Note: It may take a while for the changes to take effect.

Was this page helpful?

Yes No

Help Center