LINE

Help

Friends

Friends

What are friends? toggle
Friends are the users you can contact using LINE.
When you add a friend, you can send each other chat messages, and invite them to chats and groups.

Was this page helpful?

Yes No

Friends that are initially added toggle
The Friends initially added are people who are registered in your device's contacts list with a phone number and are using LINE. 

To prevent automatically adding users to your Friends list when you first register to LINE, please uncheck "Auto Add Friends" and "Allow Others to Add"

Was this page helpful?

Yes No

Users appearing on your friend recomendations list toggle
When another LINE user adds you as a friend, they will appear on your Friend Recommendations list.

Was this page helpful?

Yes No

Add or remove friends from favorites toggle
You can add or remove friends from Favorites by following the steps below:

1. Tap the Friends menu
2. Tap the friend you would like to add or remove from Favorites
3. Tap the star icon on the top left

Friends you add to Favorites will appear in your Favorites list. Friends you add or remove from your Favorites list will not receive any notification.

Was this page helpful?

Yes No

Maximum number of friends you can add toggle
You can add up to 5,000 friends.

Was this page helpful?

Yes No

Friends List Settings

Cannot remove a friend toggle
To remove a friend, you need to Block or Hide them first from your Friends list. To send a message to a friend after they have been removed, you will need to add them again to your Friends list using their LINE ID.

To Block or Hide friends:
1. Tap the Friends icon
2. Tap and hold the friend you wish to block or hide
4. Select Block or Hide

To remove friends from the Blocked or Hidden Users list:
1. Tap "..."
2. Tap Friends
3. Tap Blocked Users or Hidden Users
4. Tap Edit then tap Remove
Even after removing a friend, you will still appear in their Friends list

You can still receive chat messages from friends you have removed from the Hidden Users list.
If you do not want to receive chat messages from them, please remove the friend after blocking them.

Was this page helpful?

Yes No

Can I change a friend's name or profile picture? toggle
Profile pictures are set by user themselves. If a user has not set a profile picture, a default picture will be displayed.

To change a friend's display name, following the steps below:

1. Tap the Friends icon
2. Tap the name of the friend
3. Tap the pencil icon
4. After entering the name, tap OK

Your friend’s name will be displayed as it is in your contacts list. If you do not have a friend's name entered in your contacts list, the name your friend set on LINE will be displayed.

Was this page helpful?

Yes No

About Hiding, Blocking and Deleting

How do I block a friend? toggle
You can block users you do not wish to talk to, and cease communication with them.
When you block a user, they will not receive any notifications.

To block a friend, please follow the steps below:
1. Tap and hold the friend in your friends list
2. Tap Block

It may take a few minutes for the changes to take effect. Blocking does not apply for group and multi-user chats.

Was this page helpful?

Yes No

How do I unblock or unhide friends? toggle
To unblock or unhide friends, follow the steps below:

1. Tap "..."
2. Tap Friends
3. Tap Blocked Users or Hidden Users
4. Tap Edit next to the friend you wish to unblock or unhide, then tap unblock or unhide
It may take a few minutes for the changes to take effect.

Was this page helpful?

Yes No

How to tell if someone has blocked you toggle
There is no way to check if you have been blocked by a user.

Was this page helpful?

Yes No

Adding Friends

Add friends toggle
You will automatically become friends on LINE if you and your friend both have each other's phone number in your contacts lists.
You can also add friends by tapping the + icon at the bottom of the Friends menu and adding your friends' LINE ID.

When you add a friend, you will appear in their Friend Recommendation list.

Was this page helpful?

Yes No

Invite someone not registered to LINE toggle
On the Friends menu, you can invite friends through the SMS, Email and Share feature.
The Share feature will use the apps installed on your device to invite friends to LINE.

Was this page helpful?

Yes No

Can no longer search by ID toggle
When you continuously search an ID, or if you search the wrong ID multiple times in a row, the Seach by ID feature will be temporarily disabled.

This is to prevent abuse of the Search by ID feature. Please try searching again at a later time.

Was this page helpful?

Yes No

About Groups

Creating groups toggle
With the Groups feature, you can create Groups with close friends, add fellow members as friends, and chat amongst the Group.

To creat a Group, follow the steps below:

1. Tap the + icon on the bottom right of the Friends menu
2. Select a picture and enter a name for the Group
3. Select the friends you would like to add to the Group
4. Tap Save

When members accept the invitation, they will be added to the Group.

Was this page helpful?

Yes No

Add new members to a group toggle
You can add new members to the Group chat room or members page by following the steps below:

Group chat room
1. Go to the chat room for the Group
2. Tap the dots at the top right of the screen
3. Tap Invite
4. Select the friends you wish to invite (you can select more than one)

Group page
1. Go to the Group page
2. Tap Add
3. Select the friends you wish to invite (you can select more than one)

Was this page helpful?

Yes No

Invited someone by mistake toggle
If you mistakenly invited somone to a Group, you can easily remove them.

On the Group page, tap the X icon on the member you wish to remove. This will cancel their invitation.

Was this page helpful?

Yes No

If the creator of a group leaves, will the group be deleted? toggle
Group Chats in LINE do not have an administrator setting. The group chat will not be deleted, even if the creator of the group leaves the chat.

To leave a group, tap the options icon at the top left of the screen and select Leave.

Was this page helpful?

Yes No

Help Center