LINE

Help

FAQs

How LINE Points are automatically exchanged for Coins toggle
If you are short Coins when trying to buy stickers or themes, but have enough Points to make the purchase, they will be automatically exchanged for Coins.

The following versions of LINE will convert the Points you have saved up automatically.

• iOS
LINE version 6.8.5 and later

• Android
LINE version 6.8.2 and later

You can check your Coin balance from your smartphone here.

The amount that appears under My Coins will include your LINE Points converted to Coins.

The exchange rate may differ depending on the country you are using LINE in. You can view the various rates here.

Your balance will appear under My Coins as in the following examples (For countries where 1 Coin = 2 Points):
• If you have 60 Coins and 80 Points, your balance will be 100
• If you have 10 Coins and 100 Points, your balance will be 60
• If you have 0 Coins and 100 Points, your balance will be 50
• If you have 0 Coins and 90 Points, your balance will be 45

Was this page helpful?

Yes No

Data that can be transferred toggle
For a list of what data can and cannot be transferred along with your account, please see below.

Data that can be transferred:
• Friends and groups
• Notes and albums
• Profile settings (profile photo, display name, status message, ID)
• Timeline and Home posts
• Data saved in Keep (including images, videos, text, files)
• The right to use your LINE stickers and themes (including those received as gifts)
• Your purchase history of paid items, along with your Coin and LINE Point balances
• Data registered to authorized apps, including titles from LINE Games and LINE PLAY

Note:
- Coins cannot be transferred between different OSes (e.g. from iOS to Android and vice versa).
- If your friends, groups, or any other information disappeared after transferring your account, it may be due to one of the reasons described in this Help article.

Data that cannot be transferred:
• Chat history

Your chat history is not transferred with your account, so we recommend backing it up beforehand.

Was this page helpful?

Yes No

Backing up chats to iCloud toggle
In order to be able to restore your chat history after changing devices, you need to back it up beforehand.

Before backing up your data, make sure you have:
• LINE version 6.4.0 or later
• iOS 8.1 or later
• iCloud Drive turned ON

Important: Images and stickers sent in chats cannot be backed up or restored. If there are images you don't want to lose, you can save them in an Album or Keep.

To back up your chats:
1. Go to More > Settings > Chats.
2. Tap Chat history backup > Back up now.



See here for steps to restore your chat history.

Was this page helpful?

Yes No

Transferring your LINE account toggle
If you change devices, you can continue to use the same LINE account you were using before by transferring it to your new device.

To transfer your LINE account, you need to either:
• Have a phone number and password registered to your account; or
• Have your account linked with Facebook

Please make sure that your LINE account meets one of the requirements above.

For information on registering or checking your phone number, see the following Help articles:




For more information on linking your LINE account with Facebook, see this Help article.

For the steps to transfer your account, please see the following Help articles:




Was this page helpful?

Yes No

What is Letter Sealing? toggle
Letter Sealing is a feature that provides end-to-end encryption (E2EE) for chat room messages. E2EE is a communication system designed so that messages saved on our servers are encrypted and cannot be read by anyone except the sender and receiver of the message.

Once the sender and receiver have both turned on Letter Sealing, they will be able to start sending messages with added security.

The following information will be encrypted:

• Text messages (not including messages sent through other services)
• Location information
• 1-on-1 free voice calls
Note: We plan to expand Letter Sealing’s functionality in the future.

If you use LINE for PC after turning on Letter Sealing, you'll be required to verify your identity the first time you send a message.

To verify your identity, please refer to the following Help article:

Was this page helpful?

Yes No

About Letter Sealing key fingerprints toggle
Key fingerprints are unique encryption keys that Letter Sealing gives to each user so they can send messages to one another safely and securely.
Note: The actual keys are kept secret and will not appear in LINE chat rooms.

If your key fingerprint matches that of your friend, it means your chat is securely encrypted. To check whether your key fingerprint matches that of your friend, please follow the steps below.
Note: Key fingerprint confirmation is optional.

1. Tap your friend's name at the top of the chat room.
2. Under "This chat is protected with Letter Sealing.", tap View your encryption keys.
3. Compare the key fingerprints on your device and your friend's device.
Note: To compare key fingerprints with your friend, we recommend meeting face-to-face or using a form of communication you trust.

If "This chat is protected with Letter Sealing." doesn't appear, it means Letter Sealing is turned OFF. To turn Letter Sealing ON, please follow the steps in the Help article below.

Was this page helpful?

Yes No

Registering with a phone number toggle
To create a new LINE account, please follow the steps below.
Note: If you're using a device that can't be verified via text message or the Call Me Instead feature (such as an iPad), please consider verifying your LINE account with Facebook.

1. Open the LINE app and tap Start.
2. Confirm our Terms and Conditions of Use and Privacy Policy, then select your country, enter your phone number, and tap the arrow.
3. Enter the verification code you received via text message.
Note:
- On some devices, the verification code is entered automatically. In this case, please skip to step 4.
- If you see a message that says "Welcome back, [name]!" after entering the verification code, tap No, that's not me.
4. Tap No, create a new account.
5. Enter a name, set a profile photo, and tap the arrow.
6. Create a password and tap the arrow.
7. Choose whether or not to add friends from your contacts, then tap the arrow. 
8. Confirm the "Regarding Usage of Your Information" consent screen.

For more information about creating an account, see the following Help articles:


Was this page helpful?

Yes No

How can I check or change my password? toggle
There's no way to check your password on LINE. If you forgot your password, you can change it by following the steps below.
Note: We recommend writing down your new password so you don't forget it.

To change your password:
1. Tap More > Settings > Account.
2. Tap Password.
3. Enter your new password two times, then tap OK.
Note: If your device is locked with a passcode or Touch ID, you will have to enter it when you change your password.

For a video guide, see here.
Note: If the video doesn't play, try opening the link with a different browser.



If you don’t have access to your old device when transferring your account, please refer to the following Help article:

We recommend setting a password that is difficult for third parties to guess.

Was this page helpful?

Yes No

I'm not receiving the verification SMS toggle
If you didn't receive the verification code text message, please try resending it or using the Call Me Instead option to verify your account.

If you cannot finish the verification process using your phone number, you can also verify your account using Facebook.

For more information on how to use each of these verification methods, please see the Help articles below:



Was this page helpful?

Yes No

Category

Help Center
TOP