LINE

Display and Privacy Settings

Hiding and sharing posts toggle
You can hide a Timeline or Home post from certain friends using one of the methods below.

To hide a post when you make it (for LINE versions 6.6 and later):
Tap the privacy settings (Friends, Public, Only me, or Close friends) at the top of the post editing screen.

If you select Only me from the privacy settings, you'll be the only person who can see the post.

If you only want to share a post with certain friends, please see here.

To hide your posts from Settings:
1. Go to More > Settings > Timeline.
2. Tap the Included tab at the top of the Share settings screen.
3. Tap Exclude next to the name of the friend(s) you want to hide your posts from.

If you exclude a friend from your share settings, they will no longer be able to view any of your posts.

To share your posts again with someone you excluded:
1. Go to More > Settings > Timeline.
2. Tap the Excluded tab at the top of the Share settings screen.
3. Tap Include next to the name of the friend(s) you want to share your posts with.

Was this page helpful?

Yes No

Sharing posts with only certain friends toggle
You can limit who is able to see your posts on Timeline or Home by choosing a certain group to share with, or by creating a close friend list. Please use one of the methods below.

Change your privacy settings
You can do this when making your post.

1. Tap the Timeline tab > the pencil icon at the bottom right > Write.
2. Tap the globe icon at the top of the screen and choose your privacy setting.
Note: The privacy setting you choose will be the same the next time you post something.


Choose which friends can view your posts
1. Tap the Timeline tab > the pencil icon at the bottom right > Write.
2. Tap the globe icon at the top of the screen.
3. Under Friends, tap > next to All friends.
4. Tap Exclude or Include next to the name of your friends.

  
Use a close friend list
Make a close friend list and choose a privacy setting for each post.

1. Tap the Timeline tab > the pencil icon at the bottom right > Write.
2. Tap the globe icon at the top of the screen.

If you haven't made a list yet:
3. Under Friends, tap +Add close friend list.
4. Tap the members you want to add from the Friends or Groups tab > Next.
5. Rename your new list and tap Save at the top right.



If you've already made a list:
3. On the Friends tab, choose the close friend list you want to share your post with.
 


Was this page helpful?

Yes No

Getting notified of friends' Timeline posts toggle

​If a new post is added on Timeline while the LINE app is in use, you will see a notification mark appear on the Timeline tab.

Was this page helpful?

Yes No

Hiding Timeline posts from new friends toggle
By default, Timeline and Home posts are automatically made visible to newly added friends. To change this, please follow the steps below.

1. Go to the More tab.
2. Tap Settings.
3. Tap Timeline.
4. Uncheck “Allow New Friends.”

Was this page helpful?

Yes No

Hiding posts by specific friends on Timeline toggle
Your friends' posts will appear on your Timeline.

If you do not want to see posts from certain friends, please refer to the steps below to hide them.

1. Tap "..." at the top right of a post by the friend whose posts you want to hide.
2. Tap Hide all posts from this user > OK.

Note:
- If you have set to hide posts from a friend, all of their posts will be removed and newer post will not appear on your Timeline.
- Friends will not be notified when you hide them.

Please follow the steps below to unhide a friend and see their new posts.

1. Tap the Friends or More tab > Settings.
2. Tap Timeline > Timeline hidden list.
3. Tap Show next to the friend whose posts you want to see.
Note: If you choose to unhide the friend's posts, any posts that were previously hidden will not appear again.

Was this page helpful?

Yes No

Who can see your Timeline posts toggle
If both you and another user have added each other as friends on LINE, you'll be able to see each other's Timeline posts. Posts will not appear to either of you if only one of you has added the other as a friend.
Note: If you make a post Public on Timeline, users other than your friends will also be able to view it.

If you don't want a post to be viewed by certain friends, please configure your Share settings for those friends.

To hide your Timeline posts from friends you add in the future, please turn the Allow new friends setting OFF.

Was this page helpful?

Yes No

Hiding groups and friends from My Groups on Timeline toggle
Tapping the Friends or More tab > Settings > Groups will display the groups and friends who you've used the Notes or Albums features with. You can organize these groups and friends as My groups from the group icon at the top right of the Timeline screen.

To hide groups or friends from My groups:
1. At the top right of the Timeline screen, tap the group icon > settings icon at the top right > Edit groups.
2. Tap the "-" symbol on the groups or friends you want to hide, then tap OK.

Was this page helpful?

Yes No

My friend's Timeline posts don't appear anymore toggle
If a friend's Timeline posts no longer appear, it may be that:
• You are blocking your friend.
• Your friend has blocked you.
• You added your friend to your Timeline hidden list.
• Your friend's Share settings for Timeline are set to Excluded.
Note: If you've created a new account, please ask your friend to check their Share settings.

If you've blocked your friend or added them to your Timeline hidden list, you can view their Timeline posts again by unblocking them or removing them from your Blocked users list or Timeline hidden list.

Was this page helpful?

Yes No

Human silhouette icon at top-right of Timeline posts toggle
The audience of a Timeline post can be limited using privacy settings. The human silhouette icon on a Timeline post means that only some users can see the post.

By tapping the icon, you can go to the note in the 1-on-1 or group chat that it is visible to.

Was this page helpful?

Yes No

On my Home, I see a post that was only set to share with specific friends on Timeline toggle
Posts you set to share only with yourself or specific friends will also appear on your Home. However, the content of those posts will only appear on your device.

When you choose a privacy setting other than Public for a Timeline post, it will not appear to friends outside of that setting or whom you have set as Excluded in your Timeline Share settings.
Note: The content of posts set to Only Me will not appear to anyone but yourself.

If a user other than your friends or whom you've set as Excluded in your Timeline Share settings visits your Home, they will only see posts that you've made Public.

Was this page helpful?

Yes No

Posts from users besides my friends appear when I search with hashtags toggle
Since anyone can view Timeline posts that have been made Public, posts from users who aren't your friends will appear in your search results.

Please note that Public posts can also be shared by your friends.

Was this page helpful?

Yes No

The newest posts don't appear first on my Timeline toggle
You can configure the settings of your Timeline to display posts in order of most recent, most popular, etc. 

To have your Timeline display posts in order of most recent, please refer to the following steps:

1. Tap More > Settings > Timeline.
2. Switch Show popular posts first OFF.

Was this page helpful?

Yes No

Who can see relay posts? toggle
All of the friends who joined a relay can see the content posted to it.

Was this page helpful?

Yes No

Can I still see relay posts after the relay period has ended? toggle
After the relay period has ended, only the posting feature becomes unavailable.  You can still see the posts that were made during the relay period.

You can change the relay period settings by tapping the person icon on the top of the relay creation screen.

Was this page helpful?

Yes No

Help Center
TOP