LINE

Help

Account

What should I do if I forgot my password? toggle
If you have forgotten your password, please reset it using the corresponding set of steps below.

1. To change your email address or password
If you are trying to change your email address, please see this article.

If you are trying to change your password, please see this article.

2. To carry over your account
If you select LINE User Login after changing to a new device or reinstalled the app and cannot recall your password, please follow these steps to send yourself a password reset email.

Please note that the password reset email will be sent to your email address registered to LINE.

a. Tap LINE User Login.
b. Tap Forgot your password?
c. Enter your registered email address.
d. Tap OK.

See this article if you do not receive the password reset email.

Was this page helpful?

Yes No

What's the difference between an account and a User ID? toggle
A LINE account refers to the name, phone number, photo, and registered User ID etc.
Once an account is deleted, the registered information above will also be deleted.

A User ID is unique to every user and is used to identify the user within the LINE service.
When you register to LINE it will not be set. You will need to choose and register an ID yourself.

To set your LINE ID, go to More > Settings > Profile
*Once an ID is set, it cannot be changed. Please bear this in mind when setting your User ID.

Once you have set your LINE User ID, you can become friends with people who you have not exchanged phone numbers with by exchanging IDs.

If you do not want other users to search for your ID, please go into Profile and switch OFF the Public User ID setting.
*As stated in our terms, it is forbidden to share and exchange IDs on the internet for match-making purposes. We kindly ask to refrain from such actions.

We hope you have fun!

Was this page helpful?

Yes No

Can I change my registered phone number? toggle
As the phone number is entered when the app is initially installed and cannot be changed after that, please uninstall and then reinstall LINE and go through the verification process again if you wish to register a new phone number.

Please note that your chat history will be deleted by doing the above.

After reinstalling LINE, please use LINE User Login to carry over your account.

For more details about carrying over accounts, please see the following article.

https://help.line.me/line/?contentId=10002418

Was this page helpful?

Yes No

My friends told me they see me under 2 accounts. toggle
If you create a new LINE account on a new device without deleting your account from the previous device, you will end up with multiple LINE accounts.

If you cannot use your previous device, then you will not be able to delete your previous account.

Since your friends cannot delete your account, please tell them to block your previous account.

For more information on how to block users, please see the Help article below.

"Blocking Friend Recommendations"

For iOS users, see this article
For Android users, see this article
For other devices, see this article

Was this page helpful?

Yes No

If only I know the other person's phone number, can the other person see my profile? toggle
If a person with your mobile phone number registered in their contacts starts LINE, they will automatically be added to your Friends list. If you do not wish to automatically add friends, please turn off Auto Add Friends.

If they haven’t got your number registered in their contacts, you will be shown under their Friends Recommendations, where your LINE Display Name, profile picture, and status message (What’s Up? messages) will be displayed. However, no other information will be shown to the other person.

If you want to be deleted from their Friend Recommendations list, you must delete your account.

Likewise, once your account has been added to their Friends list, you will remain there unless you delete your own account.

For information on deleting your account, please see here.

We hope this helps!

Was this page helpful?

Yes No

Help Center