LINE

About Groups

About Groups

Creating groups toggle
To create a group:

1. At the top right of the Friends tab, tap Add friends (the silhouette icon) > Create group.
2. Enter a name for the group, then select the friends you want to add as members.
3. Tap Done.
Note:
- The friends you invite won't become official group members until they select Join in their invitation.
- If you're using LINE version 8.13.0 or later, your group name can be up to 50 characters long.
- You can update to the latest version of LINE here.

Was this page helpful?

Yes No

Inviting new friends to a group toggle
1. Go to the group chat you want to invite new friends to.
2. Tap the icon.
3. Tap Invite.

Note: You can also use the Add button on the group's main page.

Was this page helpful?

Yes No

Maximum friends per group toggle
You can invite up to 499 friends per group, excluding yourself.

Was this page helpful?

Yes No

Canceling a group invitation toggle
To cancel a group invitation:
1. From the chat screen, tap "V" at the top right of the screen.
2. Tap Settings > Members/Invite friends.
3. Under Pending members, tap the member whose invitation you want to cancel.
4. Tap Cancel.

Was this page helpful?

Yes No

Accidentally declining a group invitation toggle
If you want to be invited to the group again, please tell a member to cancel your invitation and then invite you again. 

Was this page helpful?

Yes No

Viewing group notes and albums toggle
To view a group's notes and albums: 
1. Tap the group on the Friends tab.
2. Tap Notes or Album.

The number next to the profile icons shows how many members posted photos or videos in the album. Tap this number to see the photos or videos each member added.

Was this page helpful?

Yes No

Posting group notes toggle
To post a group note:
1. Tap a group on the Friends tab.
2. Tap Notes.
3. Tap the pencil icon at the bottom right > Write.
4. Tap What's new? and write your note, then tap Post.

If you want to post an image, please use the Album feature, which is specifically for posting and viewing images.

Was this page helpful?

Yes No

Deleting group notes or comments and likes on note posts toggle
You can only delete group notes that you created.

To delete group notes:
1. Tap a group under the Friends tab.
2. Tap Notes.
3. Tap "..." at the top right of the note you want to delete.
4. Tap Delete.
5. Tap OK or Delete.

A comment on a note can only be deleted by the person who posted it or the creator of the note.

To unlike a post, just tap the "like" emoji again.
Note: If you rejoin a group with a different LINE account, you will not be able to delete notes (including "likes" and comments on other users' note posts) made by your previous account.

Was this page helpful?

Yes No

Leaving a group toggle
Your chat messages, notes, albums, and photos will not be deleted if you leave a group. If there is anything you want to delete, please do so before leaving the group.

When a group member deletes their account or leaves the group, a message saying "(friend's display name) left the group." will appear.

To leave a group:
1. Tap the name of the group you want to leave from the Friends tab.
2. Tap Chat.
3. Tap "V" at the top right > Settings.
4. Tap Leave groupOK.

If every member leaves the group, all the posts in it will be deleted and cannot be restored.

Was this page helpful?

Yes No

What do other users see when I decline a group invitation? toggle
If you decline a group invitation, you will still be displayed as a pending member in the group. To have yourself completely removed from the group, the friend who invited you needs to cancel your invitation. 

Was this page helpful?

Yes No

Can a new member in a group view the posts made in it before they joined? toggle
When a user joins a group, they can view Note and Album posts that were made during the time their membership was pending, but will not be able to see any chat messages posted before they joined.

Was this page helpful?

Yes No

Deleting a group or group members toggle
A group is deleted automatically when all its members have left. If there are still members in a group, follow the steps below to delete them first. 

1. Open the chat screen of the group you want to delete.
2. Tap "V" at the top right > Settings.
3. Tap Members/Invite friends > Edit.
4. Tap "-" to left of the member you want to delete.
5. Tap Delete.

After all of the other members have been deleted, you can delete the group by leaving it. Please see this Help article for steps on how to leave a group.

Was this page helpful?

Yes No

Joining groups toggle
To join a group you've been invited to:
1. Tap the Friends tab > the group name.
2. Tap Join.

Was this page helpful?

Yes No

Setting a group cover photo toggle
To set a group cover photo:
1. Tap the Friends tab > the group you want to set a cover photo for.
2. Tap and hold the cover photo, then tap Select group cover photo.
3. Select a photo, trim it, and tap Next.
4. Edit the photo any way you like, then tap Done.

Was this page helpful?

Yes No

Deleting an album toggle
To delete an album:
1. At the top right of the chat screen, tap "V" > Albums.
2. Tap "..." at the bottom right of the album you want to delete, or select the album and tap the options icon at the top right of the screen.
3. Tap Delete album > Delete.

To delete photos in an album:
1. At the top right of the chat screen, tap "V" > Albums.
2. Tap the album > the options icon at the top right of the screen > Select.
3. Select the photos you want to delete, then tap the trash can icon at the bottom left of the screen > Delete.
Note: If you want to select all of the photos, tap Select all.

Please remember that once an album or photo is deleted, it cannot be restored.

Was this page helpful?

Yes No

Adding photos to albums toggle
To add photos to an album: 
1. At the top right of the chat screen, tap "V" > Albums.
2. At the bottom right of an album, tap the option icon > Add photos.
3. Select the photos you want to add, then tap Next > Add.

You can also add photos sent in a chat room to albums. To do so:
1. Tap and hold a photo, then tap Album > Save.
2. Choose the album you want to save the photo in, then tap Add.

Was this page helpful?

Yes No

How many albums can I create? toggle
Up to 100 albums can be created per chat.

Additionally, a maximum of 1,000 photos can be added to each album (up to 300 photos at once).
Note: You can select up to 20 photos at a time when saving photos in a chat to an album by tapping and holding them.

Was this page helpful?

Yes No

Help Center
TOP