We've confirmed an issue where chats and friends disappear from LINE for iOS when the app or OS is updated.
If you've experienced this issue, we're sorry to say that the only solution available is to delete and reinstall the LINE app, and then transfer your account.
You can restore data other than your chats by reinstalling the LINE app.
Note: If you backed up your chat history to iCloud, you can restore your chats up to the time when the backup was made.
For the steps to transfer your account, please see this Help article.
If you are short Coins when trying to buy stickers or themes, but have enough Points to make the purchase, they will be automatically exchanged for Coins.
The following versions of LINE will convert the Points you have saved up automatically.
LINE version 6.8.5 and later
LINE version 6.8.2 and later
You can check your Coin balance from your smartphone here.
The amount that appears under My Coins will include your LINE Points converted to Coins.
The exchange rate may differ depending on the country you are using LINE in. You can view the various rates here.
Your balance will appear under My Coins as in the following examples (For countries where 1 Coin = 2 Points):
• If you have 60 Coins and 80 Points, your balance will be 100
• If you have 10 Coins and 100 Points, your balance will be 60
• If you have 0 Coins and 100 Points, your balance will be 50
• If you have 0 Coins and 90 Points, your balance will be 45
For a list of what data can and cannot be transferred along with your account, please see below.
Data that can be transferred:
• Friends and groups
• Notes and albums
• Profile settings (profile photo, display name, status message, ID)
• Timeline/profile posts
• Data saved in Keep (including images, videos, text, files)
• The right to use your LINE stickers and themes (including those received as gifts)
• Your purchase history of paid items, along with your Coin and LINE Point balances
• Data registered to authorized apps, including titles from LINE Games and LINE PLAY
- Coins cannot be transferred between different OSes (e.g. from iOS to Android and vice versa).
- If your friends, groups, or any other information disappeared after transferring your account, it may be due to one of the reasons described in this Help article.
Data that cannot be transferred:
• Chat history
Your chat history is not transferred with your account, so we recommend backing it up beforehand.
In order to be able to restore your chat history after changing devices, you need to back it up beforehand.
Before backing up your data, make sure you have:
• LINE version 6.4.0 or later
• iOS 8.1 or later
• iCloud Drive turned ON
Important: Images and stickers sent in chats cannot be backed up or restored. If there are images you don't want to lose, you can save them in an Album or Keep.
To back up your chats:
1. Go to More > Settings > Chats.
2. Tap Chat history backup > Back up now.
See here for steps to restore your chat history.
If you change devices, you can keep using your existing LINE account by transferring it to your new device.
To transfer your LINE account, you need to have one of the following:
• A phone number, email address, and password registered to LINE
• A Facebook account linked to LINE
Please make sure that your LINE account meets one of the requirements above.
For more information about checking or changing your phone number, email address, and password registered to LINE see the following Help articles:
For more information on linking your LINE account with Facebook, see this Help article.
For the steps to transfer your account, see the Help articles below:
Letter Sealing is a feature that provides end-to-end encryption (E2EE) for chat room messages. E2EE is a communication system designed so that messages saved on our servers are encrypted and cannot be read by anyone except the sender and receiver of the message.
Once the sender and receiver have both turned on Letter Sealing, they will be able to start sending messages with added security.
The following information will be encrypted:
• Text messages (not including messages sent through other services)
• Location information
• 1-on-1 free voice calls
Note: We plan to expand Letter Sealing’s functionality in the future.
If you use LINE for PC after turning on Letter Sealing, you'll be required to verify your identity the first time you send a message.
To verify your identity, please refer to the following Help article:
Key fingerprints are unique encryption keys that Letter Sealing gives to each user so they can send messages to one another safely and securely.
Note: The actual keys are kept secret and will not appear in LINE chat rooms.
If your key fingerprint matches your friend's, it means your chat is securely encrypted. To check whether your key fingerprints match, follow the steps below.
Note: Key fingerprint confirmation is optional.
1. Tap the menu icon at the top of the chat screen.
2. Tap This chat is protected with Letter Sealing at the bottom of the screen.
3. Compare the key fingerprints on your device and your friend's device.
Note: To compare key fingerprints with your friend, we recommend meeting face-to-face or using a form of communication you trust.
If "This chat is protected with Letter Sealing" doesn't appear, it means Letter Sealing is turned OFF. To turn Letter Sealing ON, follow the steps in this Help article.
To create a new LINE account, please follow the steps below.
Note: If you're using a device that can't be verified via text message or the Call Me Instead feature (such as an iPad), please consider verifying your LINE account with Facebook.
1. Open the LINE app and tap Start.
3. Enter the verification code you received via text message.
- On some devices, the verification code is entered automatically. In this case, please skip to step 4.
- If you see a message that says "Welcome back, [name]!" after entering the verification code, tap No, that's not me.
4. Tap No, create a new account.
5. Enter a name, set a profile photo, and tap the arrow.
6. Create a password and tap the arrow.
7. Choose whether or not to add friends from your contacts, then tap the arrow.
8. Confirm the "Regarding Usage of Your Information" consent screen.
For more information about creating an account, see the following Help articles:
Unfortunately, there is no way to directly check your registered password.
If you forgot your password, follow the steps below to change it.
Note: Be sure to write your new password down so you don’t forget it.
1. From the Friends or More tab, tap Settings > Account.
2. Tap Password.
3. Enter your new password two times, then tap OK.
Note: If your device is locked with a passcode, Touch ID, or Face ID, you need to unlock it when you change your password.
If you're viewing this article on your smartphone, tap here to go to the Account screen.
If you can’t remember your password and don't have access to your old device when transferring your LINE account, please see this Help article.
If you didn't receive the verification code text message, please try resending it or using the Call Me Instead option to verify your account.
If you cannot finish the verification process using your phone number, you can also verify your account using Facebook.
For more information on how to use each of these verification methods, please see the Help articles below: