About Premium Backup

Share

LINE X Facebook

Copied

Premium Backup lets you back up your chat history, including photos and videos, in real time to 100 GB of storage provided by LINE.

This feature is only available to LYP Premium (Japan) and LINE Premium (Taiwan and Thailand) members on their main devices (typically smartphones).

Note: If you are using LINE on a sub device such as a PC, some Premium Backup features may not be available on that device.


You can also transfer your entire chat history that was backed up after enabling Premium Backup, even when transferring your LINE account between devices with different operating systems (e.g. Android to iOS, iOS to Android).

About chat history eligible for backups

Chat history that can be backed up

  • Text messages
  • Photos
  • Videos
  • Files
  • Voice messages

Chat history data that might not be backed up

In some cases, the following chat history data might not be backed up.

  • Messages from official accounts and system messages
  • Photos, videos, files, and voice messages that expired before using Premium Backup
  • Some photos, videos, files, and voice messages shared before using Premium Backup
    During the initial backup, only data saved locally in the LINE app on your main device at the time you perform the backup will be included. (This includes photos, videos, and other data saved in the LINE app's local storage/cache by downloading them after they were sent or received.)
  • Photos, videos, files, and voice messages that are not saved locally in the LINE app on your main device
  • Photos, videos, files, and voice messages that were not included in the initial backup
    Note: Any data not included in your initial backup won't be added later by automatic backups.
  • Your chat history from deleted chats
    Deleted chats are permanently removed from your LINE account and cannot be restored from subsequent backups, including Premium Backup.

Your chat history if you haven't opened LINE for 14 days or more

If you don't open LINE for 14 days or more, chat history that expired during that period will also be backed up.

To check the chat history for this period, you need to restore it with a method detailed in Restoring your backed up chat history.

The chat history for that period will also be included when restoring chat history in scenarios such as changing devices.

How to start using Premium Backup

Check the size of your chat history and your device's storage

With Premium Backup, you can back up a maximum of 100 GB of chat history. You also need at least 5 GB of free space on your device when performing an initial backup. The backup will automatically stop if your device storage falls below 3 GB during the initial backup.

Please check if you have enough storage for the backup using the methods below.

Check the size of your chat history

On the main device you can access LINE on, tap the Home tab > Settings > Chats > Delete data.

 

Check your device's storage

See the following links based on the OS you're using.

Make an initial backup

If you're using Premium Backup for the first time, follow the steps below to back up your data.

When the initial backup is complete, subsequent chat history will be backed up automatically.

Note: You cannot stop Premium Backup after you begin using it.

Making an initial backup
  1. Open LINE from the main device you can access LINE on.
  2. Tap the Home tab > Settings > Chat history backup.
  3. Tap Back up now.
  4. Check the pop-up that appears, then tap Agree (only on the initial backup).
  5. Enter your password and check the important notes about passwords, then tap Continue.
  6. After the backup finishes, tap OK.

After the initial backup finishes, you'll receive a completion message from the LYP Premium (LYPプレミアム) official account (Japan)/LINE Premium official account (Taiwan and Thailand).


If you tap Stop backup during the initial backup to force it to quit, you can restart the initial backup.

Note: If you live in Japan or Thailand, you can use this feature on version 15.20.0 or later of LINE for iOS or version 26.0.0 or later of LINE for Android. (Update to the latest version of LINE.)

Restarting an initial backup
  1. Open LINE from the main device you can access LINE on.
  2. Tap the Home tab > Settings > Chat history backup.
  3. Tap Resume initial backup > Resume.
Note: This feature can be used once every 24 hours.

Resolving issues

If your initial backup is paused

Skip backing up any messages that have issues. The backup will resume without the affected messages.

  1. Tap Check sections or Check errors.
  2. Check the messages that have errors.
  3. Tap Skip to resume backup.

If an error occurs during the initial backup

Please proceed by following the on-screen guidance. Once the issue is resolved, the backup will continue. If the issue persists due to an unknown error, please restart the initial backup.

Restoring your backed up chat history

You can restore your backed up chat history if your device is damaged or you change models. Please refer to the information below.

If you're transferring your LINE account

Transferring with a phone number or QR code

Tap Restore chat history on the "Restore chat history" screen.

Transferring with an Apple ID or Google account

On the "Enter your LINE password" screen, enter your password and tap Continue > Restore chat history.

If you skipped restoring your backup while transferring your LINE account
  1. Open LINE from the main device you can access LINE on.
  2. Tap the Home tab > Settings > Chat history backup.
  3. Tap Restore.
  4. Tap Restore.

If the restoration is paused

Select Retry or Skip on the Restore status screen by following the steps below.

  1. Open LINE from the main device you can access LINE on.
  2. Tap the Home tab > Settings > Chat history backup.
  3. Tap Check restore status.
  4. Tap Retry or Skip.

Managing your storage

If your stored data reaches 100 GB, new media (photos, videos, files, and voice messages) in your chat history will stop being backed up.


Delete unneeded data on the Manage storage screen to free up space.

Note: Be aware that deleted data cannot be restored.


Once you've freed up storage space, backups will automatically start again.