LINE

Help

Display and Privacy Settings

Hiding and sharing posts toggle
You can hide a Timeline or Home post from certain friends using one of the methods below.

To hide a post when you make it (for LINE versions 6.6 and later):
Tap the privacy settings (Friends, Public, Only me, or Close friends) at the top of the post editing screen.

If you select Only me from the privacy settings, you'll be the only person who can see the post.

If you only want to share a post with certain friends, please see here.

To hide your posts from Settings:
1. Go to More > Settings > Timeline.
2. Tap the Included tab at the top of the Share settings screen.
3. Tap Exclude next to the name of the friend(s) you want to hide your posts from.

If you exclude a friend from your share settings, they will no longer be able to view any of your posts.

To share your posts again with someone you excluded:
1. Go to More > Settings > Timeline.
2. Tap the Excluded tab at the top of the Share settings screen.
3. Tap Include next to the name of the friend(s) you want to share your posts with.

Was this page helpful?

Yes No

Sharing posts with only certain friends toggle
You can limit who is able to see your posts on Timeline or Home by choosing a certain group to share with or creating a close friend list.

To change your privacy settings:
1. From the main menu, tap Timeline > the pencil icon at the top right of the screen.
2. Tap the privacy setting at the top of the screen (Public, Only me, Friends, or Close friends).
Note: The privacy settings you set for a post will carry over to the next time you post something.


To choose which friends can view your posts:
1. From the main menu, tap Timeline > the pencil icon at the top right of the screen.
2. Tap the privacy setting at the top of the screen (Public, Only me, Friends, or Close friends).
3. Under Friends, tap the > icon next to All friends.
4. To choose who can view your posts, tap Include or Exclude next to your friends' names.

  


To use a close friend list:
1. From the main menu, tap Timeline > the pencil icon at the top right of the screen.
2. Tap the privacy setting at the top of the screen (Public, Only me, Friends, or Close friends).

The following steps will depend on if a list has already been created.

If you haven't create a list yet:
3. Under Friends, tap + Add close friend list.
4. Select the friends or groups you would like to share your post with, then tap Next.
5. Enter a name for the list, then tap Save at the top right of the screen.



If you have already created a list:
3. Under Friends, choose the list you want to share your post with.
 



Was this page helpful?

Yes No

Getting notified of friends' Timeline posts toggle

​If a new post is added on Timeline while the LINE app is in use, you will see a notification mark appear on the Timeline tab.

Was this page helpful?

Yes No

Hiding Timeline posts from new friends toggle
By default, Timeline and Home posts are automatically made visible to newly added friends. To change this, please follow the steps below.

1. Go to the More tab.
2. Tap Settings.
3. Tap Timeline.
4. Uncheck “Allow New Friends.”

Was this page helpful?

Yes No

Hiding posts by specific friends on Timeline toggle
Your friends' posts will appear on your Timeline.

If you do not want to see posts from certain friends, please refer to the steps below to hide them.

1. Tap the "..." icon at the top right of a post by the friend whose posts you want to hide.
2. Tap Hide all posts from this user > OK.

Note:
- If you have set to hide posts from a friend, all of their posts will be removed and new posts will not appear on your Timeline.
- Friends will not be notified when you hide them.

Please follow the steps below to unhide a friend and see their new posts.

1. Tap More > Settings.
2. Tap Timeline > Timeline hidden list.
3. Tap Show next to the friend whose posts you want to see.
Note: If you choose to unhide the friend's posts, any posts that were previously hidden will not appear again.

Was this page helpful?

Yes No

Can other people see my posts on Timeline? toggle
If both you and a user added each other as friends on LINE, you will be able to see each other's posts on Timeline. However, posts on Timeline will not be visible to either user if only one of you has added the other as a friend.
Note: If you make a post on Timeline and set it to Public, your friends as well as other users who are not your friend will be able to view it.

Be sure to configure your Privacy Settings if you do not want a post to be viewed by certain friends. To hide your posts on Timeline from friends you add in the future, turn OFF the setting for Allow New Friends.

Was this page helpful?

Yes No

Hiding groups and friends from My Groups on Timeline toggle
In More > Settings > Groups, you will see all groups and friends you have used the notes or albums features with in 1-on-1 chats or groups. You can also manage these groups by tapping the groups icon at the top right of your Timeline.

To hide a group from this list, tap the three dots at the top right of the My Groups page and select it. You cannot hide friends from My Groups.

Was this page helpful?

Yes No

Friends' Timeline posts stopped showing up toggle
If your friend’s Timeline posts have stopped showing up, the following reasons may be possible.

• You blocked the friend.
• Your friend blocked you.
• Your friend was added to your Timeline Hidden List.
• Your friend configured their privacy settings to hide posts from you.

If you have signed up for a new account, please ask your friend to check their privacy settings.

If you have blocked your friend or added them to your Timeline Hidden List, you can see their Timeline posts again by unblocking or unhiding them.

Was this page helpful?

Yes No

Human silhouette icon at top-right of Timeline posts toggle
The audience of a Timeline post can be limited using privacy settings. The human silhouette icon on a Timeline post means that only some users can see the post.

By tapping the icon, you can go to the note in the 1-on-1 or group chat that it is visible to.

Was this page helpful?

Yes No

A post that was only set to share with specific friends on Timeline appears on my Home toggle
Posts you set to share with specific friends and yourself will also appear on your Home. However, the content of those posts will only appear on your device.

When you set the privacy settings for a post, it will not appear for friends whom you have set to Hidden in the Timeline privacy settings. Posts set to Only Me will not be visible to anyone but yourself.

Users who are not your friend on LINE, as well as users you have specified to hide a Timeline post from will only be able to see posts set to Public when they visit your Home. 

Was this page helpful?

Yes No

I'm seeing posts from users besides my friends when searching with hashtags toggle
Since anyone can view a post that has been set to Public, posts from users who are not your friends can be searched on your Timeline.

Please note that posts that were set to Public can be shared by your friends.

Was this page helpful?

Yes No

The newest posts don't appear first on my Timeline toggle
You can configure the settings of your Timeline to display posts in order of most recent, most popular, etc. 

To have your Timeline display posts in order of most recent, please refer to the following steps:

1. Tap More > Settings > Timeline.
2. Switch Show popular posts first OFF.

Was this page helpful?

Yes No

Who can see relay posts? toggle
All of the friends who joined a relay can see the content posted to it.

Was this page helpful?

Yes No

Can I still see relay posts after the relay period has ended? toggle
After the relay period has ended, only the posting feature becomes unavailable.  You can still see the posts that were made during the relay period.

You can change the relay period settings by tapping the person icon on the top of the relay creation screen.

Was this page helpful?

Yes No

Help Center