LINE

Groups and multi-person chats

Difference between group chats and multi-person chats toggle
There are several differences between group chats and multi-person chats.

Group chats
Group chats let you set a group name and profile photo, as well as use convenient features like Albums and Notes.

However, the friends you invite need to tap the Join button to participate in the group.

To start a group chat:
1. Tap the Friends tab on the main menu.
2. Select the group name and tap Chat.
Note: If you want to create a group, please see here.

Multi-person chats
Several friends can start chatting as soon as they're invited to a multi-person chat.

Compared to groups, the features you can use are limited, but multi-person chats offer the advantage of letting you easily create chat rooms with several friends.

To start a multi-person chat:
1. Tap the Chats tab on the main menu.
2. Tap the speech bubble icon at the top of the screen.
3. Select who you want to add and tap Chat.

Was this page helpful?

Yes No

Creating groups toggle
To create a group:

1. At the top right of the Friends tab, tap Add friends (the silhouette icon) > Create group.
2. Enter a name for the group, then select the friends you want to add as members.
3. Tap Save.
Note
-The friends you invite won't become group members until they select Join in their invitation.
- If you're using LINE version 8.13.0 or later, your group name can be up to 50 characters long.
- You can update to the latest version of LINE here.

Was this page helpful?

Yes No

Deleting a group or group members toggle
A group is deleted automatically when all its members have left. If there are still members in a group, follow the steps below to delete them first.

1. Tap the Friends tab.
2. Tap the name of the group you want to delete.
3. Tap a member icon, Notes, or Albums.
4. Tap Members.
5. Tap Edit > Delete.

After all the other members have been deleted, select Leave to remove yourself and delete the group.


Was this page helpful?

Yes No

Inviting new friends to a group toggle
1. Go to the group chat you want to invite new friends to.
2. Tap the V icon.
3. Tap Invite.

Note: You can also use the Add button on the group’s main page. 

Was this page helpful?

Yes No

Leaving a group toggle
Your chat messages, notes, albums, and photos will not be deleted if you leave a group. If there is any data you want to delete, please do so before leaving the group.

When a group member deletes their account or leaves the group, a message saying "(friend's display name) left the group." will appear.

To leave a group:
1. Tap the name of the group you want to leave from the Friends tab.
2. Tap Chat.
3. Tap "V" at the top right of the chat.
4. Tap Leave > OK.

If every member leaves the group, all the posts in it will be deleted and cannot be restored.

Was this page helpful?

Yes No

What are multi-person chats? toggle
Multi-person chats are group-like chat rooms created by inviting friends to a 1-on-1 chat.

With normal groups, a user that was invited cannot participate in the group unless they select Join. However, with multi-person chat rooms, you can immediately start chatting with friends who were invited.

Multi-person chats easily allow you to communicate with a number of friends; however, features found in 1-on-1 and group chats (such as Notes and Albums) cannot be used.

If you'd like to share things like information and photos with friends in a multi-person chat room, we suggest making a group out of that multi-person chat.

Was this page helpful?

Yes No

Can I change the title of a multi-person chat? toggle
We are sorry to say that you cannot change the title of a multi-person chat.

If you create a group out of a multi-person chat room, you can set any title you’d like as long as it’s within 20 characters.

Was this page helpful?

Yes No

How can I create a group from a multi-person chat? toggle
To create a group from a multi-person chat room:

1. Tap Chats.
2. Open the relevant multi-person chat room.
3. Tap the V icon > Create group.
4. Set a name for the group, then tap Save.

Please note that messages exchanged in the multi-person chat will not be transferred to the group. To view those past messages, please check the multi-person chat room.

Was this page helpful?

Yes No

Help Center
TOP