LINE

Friend safety/security

Can someone see my profile if I have their phone number but they don’t have mine? toggle
If a person with your mobile phone number registered in their device's contacts starts using LINE, they will automatically be added to your friend list.
Note: They will not be added automatically if you have the Auto-add friends setting turned OFF.

If your phone number is not in the person's contacts, you will appear under Friend recommendations. In this case, your LINE display name, profile photo, status message, and profile cover photo will be visible, but the person won't be able to see any of your other information.

The only way to remove yourself from someone else’s friend recommendations is to delete your account. Also, if you have already been added as a friend, you'll continue to appear in the person's friend list unless your account is deleted.

For information on deleting your account, please see here.

Was this page helpful?

Yes No

How LINE uses the information in your device's contacts toggle
When you perform the operations listed below, LINE accesses information in your device's contacts to make it easy to find your close friends. (Only the telephone numbers in your contact information are transferred to our servers, and all of the information is encrypted.)

When you sign up for LINE and select OK at the “Your Address Book will be sent to LINE’s server” prompt.
When you turn ON Auto-add friends in your settings or tap the refresh icon next to Last auto-add and select OK at the “Your Address Book will be sent to LINE’s server” prompt.

LINE adds mutual contacts in your device's contacts to your friend list automatically. If only one of you has the other added as a contact, the one who has the contact information on their device will be added to the other's Friend recommendations, and the recommended person will be added to the other's friend list.

Your own phone number and phone numbers obtained from your device's contacts will not be disclosed and will be protected as follows:
Your contact information will be used only if you agree to the terms & conditions of LINE when signing up. The terms and conditions describe when and how LINE will use your personal information.
If you agree to allow LINE to find your friends, the telephone numbers in your device's contacts will be encrypted and securely sent to our servers.
We use encrypted text when comparing your information with existing user information.

For more information about our privacy policy, see here.

Was this page helpful?

Yes No

How information from your device's contacts is stored on LINE's servers toggle

When you agree to allow LINE to find your friends, the phone numbers in your device's contacts are sent to our servers, where they are encrypted and securely stored.

 

For information about our privacy policy, see here.

Was this page helpful?

Yes No

Someone is impersonating me on LINE. toggle
If users select to send their phonebook data to LINE’s servers upon registering to LINE, phone numbers in their phone books will be used to search for their friends who are LINE users.
If we find those users, they will appear in the user's [Friends] list under the names registered in the user's phonebook.

Therefore if you have stopped using your number and someone else obtains it, a third party may be registered on your friends' [Friends] list under your name.

Please ensure that your friends do not have you registered under multiple phone numbers/mobile email addresses within their phonebook, and also check that they have not saved you under any details which are out of date such as previous phone numbers.

Was this page helpful?

Yes No

Can other people view my Friends list? toggle
Please be assured that no other users can view your Friends list.

Was this page helpful?

Yes No

Preventing your contacts list information from being sent to LINE toggle
To stop your contacts information from being sent to LINE:
1. Go to the Home tab > Settings > Friends.
2. Turn Auto-add friends OFF.

If you want to remove a user who has already been added as a friend, see this Help article.

Was this page helpful?

Yes No

Preventing others from adding you toggle

If you don't want to be automatically added as a friend by someone who has your phone number, follow the steps below.
Note: These steps will not affect existing friends.

 

1. Go to the Home tab > Settings.
2. Tap Friends.
3. Turn OFF Allow Others to Add.


Tap here to open the Settings menu from your smartphone.

Was this page helpful?

Yes No

Preventing ID search toggle

To prevent others from being able to search for your ID:

1. Go to the Home tab > Settings > Profile.
2. Turn OFF Allow others to add me by ID.


Tap here to access the Profile menu from your smartphone.

Was this page helpful?

Yes No

Filtering messages from non-friends toggle

To filter messages from users who are not your friends:

1. Go to the Home tab > Settings.
2. Tap Privacy.
3. Turn ON Filter messages.


Tap here to open the Settings menu from your smartphone.

Was this page helpful?

Yes No

Blocking accounts that appear in your friend recommendations toggle
To block accounts that appear in your friend recommendations: 
1. Tap the Home tab > your friend list > Friend recommendations.
2. Tap and hold the name of the account that you want to block.
3. Tap Block.
Note: It may take some time for the changes to be applied.

Was this page helpful?

Yes No

Blocking accounts toggle
When you block an account on LINE:
• You'll no longer be able to receive chat messages or voice/video calls from that account.
• It will appear in Blocked accounts instead of your friend list.

Blocking an account doesn't completely remove it as a friend or friend recommendation. If you'd like to do so, see this Help article.

To block an account:
1. Tap the Home tab > your friend list.
2. Tap and hold the name of the account that you want to block.
3. Tap Block > Block.

To unblock an account:
1. Tap the Home tab > Settings.
Note: Tap here to open Settings from your smartphone.
2. Tap Friends.
3. Tap Blocked accounts.
4. Tap Edit next to the account you want to unblock.
5. Tap Unblock.
Note: It may take some time for the changes to be applied.

Was this page helpful?

Yes No

Deleting hidden or blocked accounts toggle
Unlike hiding or blocking, deleting an account from your friend list cannot be undone. Please keep this in mind if you're thinking of deleting the account of someone who you don't have any other way to contact.

To delete an account:
1. Tap the Home tab > Settings.
2. Tap Friends.
3. Tap Hidden accounts or Blocked accounts.
4. Tap Edit next to the account you want to delete.
5. Tap Delete.

Tap here to open the Settings menu from your smartphone.

Was this page helpful?

Yes No

Help Center
TOP