LINE

About Groups

Creating groups toggle
To create a group:

1. At the top right of the Friends tab, tap Add friends (the silhouette icon) > Create group.
2. Enter a name for the group, then select the friends you want to add as members.
3. Tap Save.
Note
-The friends you invite won't become group members until they select Join in their invitation.
- If you're using LINE version 8.13.0 or later, your group name can be up to 50 characters long.
- You can update to the latest version of LINE here.

Was this page helpful?

Yes No

Inviting new friends to a group toggle
1. Go to the group chat you want to invite new friends to.
2. Tap the V icon.
3. Tap Invite.

Note: You can also use the Add button on the group’s main page. 

Was this page helpful?

Yes No

Maximum friends per group toggle
You can invite up to 499 friends per group, excluding yourself.

Was this page helpful?

Yes No

Canceling a group invitation toggle
To cancel a group invitation:
1. Tap the relevant group on the Friends tab.
2. Tap > next to the member icons.
3. On the Members tab under Pending members, tap the member whose invitation you want to cancel.
4. Tap Cancel.

Was this page helpful?

Yes No

Accidentally declining a group invitation toggle
If you want to be invited to the group again, please tell a member to cancel your invitation and then invite you again.

Was this page helpful?

Yes No

Viewing group notes and albums toggle
You can view group notes and albums in the following ways:
 
• Tap the group you want to view the notes or albums for on your friends list, then tap Notes or Album on the group profile.
• Tap the notes icon at the top right of a group chat.
• Tap the Timeline menu icon at the top right of the Timeline, then the icon of the group you want to view the notes or albums for.

Was this page helpful?

Yes No

Posting group notes toggle
To post a group note:
1. Tap a group on the Friends tab.
2. Tap Notes.
3. Tap the pencil icon at the bottom right > Write.
4. Tap What's new? and write your note, then tap Post.

If you want to post an image, please use the Album feature, which is specifically for posting and viewing images.

Was this page helpful?

Yes No

Adding photos to an album toggle
You can add photos to an album by following the steps below.

1. Go to the main page of a group.
2. Tap Album.
3. Tap the album you wish to post an image in.
4. Tap the + button on the upper right of the screen.

Was this page helpful?

Yes No

Deleting group notes toggle
You can only delete group notes that you created.

To delete group notes:
1. Tap a group under the Friends tab.
2. Tap Notes.
3. Tap ... at the top right of the note you want to delete.
4. Tap Delete.
5. Tap OK or Delete.

Was this page helpful?

Yes No

Deleting a group album toggle
To delete a group album:

1. Go to the Friends tab, then select the group with the album you want to delete.
2. Tap Album followed by the album you want to delete.
3. Tap the triangle next to the album name, then Delete Album.

Was this page helpful?

Yes No

Deleting a group post created using a previous account toggle
You cannot delete posts, Likes, or comments made using an old account. To delete a comment posted using a previous account, you will need to ask the author of the post it is attached to help you. To delete a Like made using a previous account, the post it is attached to needs to be deleted.

Was this page helpful?

Yes No

Maximum number of albums toggle
Maximum albums per group: 100
Maximum photos per album: 1,000
Maximum photos per upload: 1,000

Was this page helpful?

Yes No

Leaving a group toggle
Your chat messages, notes, albums, and photos will not be deleted if you leave a group. If there is any data you want to delete, please do so before leaving the group.

When a group member deletes their account or leaves the group, a message saying "(friend's display name) left the group." will appear.

To leave a group:
1. Tap the name of the group you want to leave from the Friends tab.
2. Tap Chat.
3. Tap "V" at the top right of the chat.
4. Tap Leave > OK.

If every member leaves the group, all the posts in it will be deleted and cannot be restored.

Was this page helpful?

Yes No

What do other users see when I decline a group invitation? toggle
If you decline a group invitation, you will still be displayed as a pending member in the group. To have yourself completely removed from the group, the friend who invited you needs to cancel your invitation. 

Was this page helpful?

Yes No

Can a new member in a group view the posts made in it before they joined? toggle
When a user joins a group, they can view Note and Album posts that were made during the time their membership was pending, but will not be able to see any chat messages posted before they joined.

Was this page helpful?

Yes No

Deleting a group or group members toggle
A group is deleted automatically when all its members have left. If there are still members in a group, follow the steps below to delete them first.

1. Tap the Friends tab.
2. Tap the name of the group you want to delete.
3. Tap a member icon, Notes, or Albums.
4. Tap Members.
5. Tap Edit > Delete.

After all the other members have been deleted, select Leave to remove yourself and delete the group.


Was this page helpful?

Yes No

Joining groups toggle
To join a group you've been invited to:
1. Tap the Friends tab > the group name.
2. Tap Join.

Was this page helpful?

Yes No

Setting a group cover photo toggle
To set a group cover photo: 
1. Tap the Friends tab > the group you want to set a cover photo for.
2. Tap and hold the cover photo, then tap Select group cover photo.
3. Select the photo you want to set, adjust the size, then tap OK.
4. Edit the photo any way you like, then tap Done.

Was this page helpful?

Yes No

Help Center
TOP