LINE

Timeline and Home Security

Hiding and sharing a post toggle
If you wish to hide a Home or Timeline post, please refer to either of the following steps:

Hiding a post for LINE versions 6.6 and later
1. From the relevant post, tap Friends (Public or Only Me) at the top of the screen.
2. From the Privacy settings screen, tap the arrow icon next to Friends.
3. Tap Restrict next to the friends you wish to hide posts from.
4. Tap Save at the top right of the screen.

If you select Only Me from the privacy settings, no one but you will be able to view the relevant post.

Hiding posts from settings
1. Go to Settings > Timeline > Share Settings.
2. Tap Restrict next to the friends you wish to hide posts from.
3. Tap Save at the top right of the screen.

If you add a friend to the restricted list under share settings, they will no longer be able to view your posts. However, if later on you wish to allow them to view your posts again, you can do so by following the steps below:

1. From the Share Settings screen, tap the Restricted tab.
2. Tap Unrestrict next to the friends you wish to allow to view your posts.
3. Tap Save at the top right of the screen.

Was this page helpful?

Yes No

Share a post with certain friends toggle
When you make a Timeline or Home post, you can limit the audience by selecting a group or creating a share list.

Note: If you restricted a friend from viewing your Timeline posts, you will not be able to add them to a share list.

If you wish to add a restricted friend to a share list for a Timeline post, please remove them from the Restricted list of users from the Share Settings beforehand by referring to the following Help article:


To create a share list, please follow the steps below:

1. Tap Friends (Public, or Only Me) at the top of the relevant post.

The following steps will differ depending on whether a share list was created or not.

If a share list was not created
2. From Share List, tap Add.
3. From the Friends or Groups tab, select the friends you wish to add to the share list and tap OK.
4. In the New List field, enter a name of your choosing and tap Save.

If a share list has already been created
2. Select a previously created list under Share List.
3. Tap Done at the top right of the screen.

Was this page helpful?

Yes No

Hiding Timeline posts from new friends toggle
By default, Timeline and Home posts are automatically made visible to newly added friends. To change this, please follow the steps below.

1. Tap the settings icon > Timeline.
2. Turn OFF the setting for Allow New Friends.

Was this page helpful?

Yes No

Hiding Timeline posts from specific friends toggle
Your friends posts' will appear on your Timeline.

If you do not want to see posts from certain friends, please refer to the steps below to hide them.

1. Tap the V icon on post of the friend you wish to hide.
2. Tap Hide Posts from this user.

Please note the following:
- If you have set to hide posts from a friend, all of their posts will be removed and newer post will not appear on your Timeline.
- Friends will not be notified when you hide them.

To unhide a friend and their posts, tap Settings > Timeline > Timeline Hidden List, then tap Show.

Was this page helpful?

Yes No

Visibility of Timeline posts to others toggle
Your Timeline posts are only visible to users who are mutual friends. If only one of you has added the other as a friend, they will not be able to see your posts. Please note if your privacy settings for a Timeline post is set to Public, your friends as well as other users who are not your friend will be able to view the post.

If you are mutual friends with someone but do not want them to see your Timeline posts, please configure your Privacy Settings. If you want to prevent your Timeline posts from being visible to friends you add in the future, please turn OFF  the setting forAllow New Friends.

Was this page helpful?

Yes No

Friends' Timeline posts stopped showing up toggle
If your friend’s Timeline posts have stopped showing up, the following reasons may be possible.

- You blocked the friend.
- The friend blocked you.
- You added the friend to your Timeline Hidden List.
- The friend configured their privacy settings to hide their posts from you.

If you have signed up for a new account, please ask your friend to check their privacy settings.

If you have blocked the friend or added them to your Timeline Hidden List, you can see their Timeline posts again by unblocking or unhiding them.

Was this page helpful?

Yes No

A post that was only set to share with specific friends on Timeline appears on my Home toggle
Posts you set to share with specific friends and yourself will also appear on your Home. However, the content of those posts will only appear on your device.

When you set the privacy settings for a post, it will not appear for friends whom you have set to Hidden in the Timeline privacy settings. Posts set to Only Me will not be visible to anyone but yourself.

Users who are not your friend on LINE, as well as users you have specified to hide a Timeline post from will only be able to see posts set to Public when they visit your Home. 

Was this page helpful?

Yes No

Help Center
TOP