Hiding and deleting
You can unsend a message within 24 hours of sending it. This removes the message so that it can no longer be seen by anyone in the chat where it was sent, even after it has been read. To unsend a message, just tap and hold it, then select Unsend.
- Everyone will still be able to see a notice that shows you removed a message.
- There is no way to unsend anything (e.g. text messages, photos) that has already been deleted from a chat.
- We will not be able to recover or unsend anything deleted from a chat room.
You can unsend text messages, stickers, photos, videos, voice messages, songs shared from LINE MUSIC, URLs, contact information, location information, files, and call histories.
You can delete messages in chats so they don't appear on your device anytime.
Important: Deleting messages by following the steps below will only delete them on your device, and they will still be visible to any other users in the chat room.
To delete a message:
1. Tap and hold the message you want to delete.
2. Tap Delete or Delete messages.
3. Tap Delete and confirm by tapping Delete once again.
You can unsend messages so that other users can no longer see them if 24 hours haven't passed since they were sent (regardless of whether they have been read or not). For more information about unsending messages, see this Help article.
To block messages from LINE GAME apps, please follow the steps below.
1. Tap the settings icon > Notifications > Authorized Apps.
2. Tap the app you do not want to receive notifications for.
3. Turn OFF Receive Messages or Receive Notifications.
You will no longer receive messages from the app by turning OFF Receive Messages; however you will still receive gifts awarded to you from friends.
By turning OFF Receive Notification, you will still receive LINE chat messages; however you will not receive notifications for them.
To archive a chat, please follow the steps below.
1. Tap the chat icon at the bottom.
2. Tap Edit at the top left.
3. From Edit Chat List, select the chat you wish to archive and tap Archive.
To view a chat again, please follow the steps below.
1-on-1 and Group Chats
1. Select the friend or group from the friends list.
2. Tap Chat on the pop-up.
If you cannot find the friend on your friends list because you have not added them, have deleted them, or they have deleted their account, you will not be able to view the chat again.
Ask one of your friends to send a message in the chat.
To avoid messages from strangers, please refer to the measures below.
To reject users besides your friends from messaging you
1. Tap the settings icon > Privacy.
2. Turn ON Filter Messages.
If you receive messages from strangers on LINE, please block them by following the steps below.
1. Open the chat sent by the user and tap the V icon at the top right.
2. Tap Block.