The differences between unsending and deleting a message are as follows.
When you unsend a message:
The message will be removed from the chat for both you and the person or group you're messaging. You can unsend messages up to 24 hours after they were sent, regardless of whether they have been read or not.
- There is no way to unsend anything (e.g. text messages, photos) that has already been deleted from a chat.
- If a message was unsent, everyone will be able to see a notice saying “~ unsent a message” in the chat.
When you delete a message:
It will only be deleted from the chat on your screen and will remain visible to the person or group you're messaging.
- Deleted information cannot be recovered or unsent.
- No one will be notified when you delete a message.
See the following sections for the steps to unsend and delete a message.
Tap and hold the message you want to unsend and then tap Unsend > Unsend.
Note: After you unsend a message, a notice will appear for everyone in the chat showing that you removed it.
You can unsend messages, stickers, photos, videos, voice messages, URLs, contact information, location information, and files.
1. Tap and hold the message you want to delete.
2. Tap Delete > Delete > Delete.
Let us know if we can make it better.