LINE

Help

Groups and multi-person chats

Creating groups toggle
You can create groups to chat together with multiple friends. Unlike multi-person chats, you can name groups and also use notes and albums. Members of a group can also add one another as friends or chat individually. 

Please follow the steps below to create a group:

1. Go to More > Add Friends > Create a Group.
2. Enter a name for the group, then select the friends you want to add.
3. Tap Save.
4. An invitation will be sent to the friends you added. When each friend selects Join, they will become a member of the group. 
Note: Until a friend joins, they will be shown in the Pending section.

Was this page helpful?

Yes No

Deleting a group or group members toggle
A group is deleted automatically when all members leave. If there are multiple members in the group, you will need to remove all of them using the steps below before the group can be deleted.

1. Go to the Friends tab.
2. Tap the group you want to delete.
3. Tap the member icons, Posts, or Albums.
4. Tap Members.
5. Tap Edit, then Remove next to each member.



Once you are the only member left, tap “Leave this Group” to leave the group and delete it.

Was this page helpful?

Yes No

Inviting new friends to a group toggle
1. Go to the group chat you want to invite new friends to.
2. Tap the V icon.
3. Tap Invite.

Note: You can also use the Add button on the group’s main page. 

Was this page helpful?

Yes No

Leaving a group toggle
Your notes, albums, and photos will not be deleted if you leave a group. If there is any data you wish to delete, please do so before leaving the group.

When a group member deletes their account or leaves the group, a message saying "(friend's display name) left the group." will appear.

To leave a group:
1. Tap the name of the group you wish to leave.
2. Tap Group chat.
3. Tap the V icon.
5. Tap Leave > OK.



Once all members of a group leave, all data that was posted in it will be deleted. In this case, the data cannot be restored.

Was this page helpful?

Yes No

What are multi-person chats? toggle
Multi-person chats are group-like chat rooms created by inviting friends to a 1-on-1 chat.

With normal groups, a user that was invited cannot participate in the group unless they select Join. However, with multi-person chat rooms, you can immediately start chatting with friends who were invited.

Multi-person chats easily allow you to communicate with a number of friends; however, features found in 1-on-1 and group chats (such as Notes and Albums) cannot be used.

If you'd like to share things like information and photos with friends in a multi-person chat room, we suggest making a group out of that multi-person chat.

Was this page helpful?

Yes No

Can I change the title of a multi-person chat? toggle
We are sorry to say that you cannot change the title of a multi-person chat.

If you create a group out of a multi-person chat room, you can set any title you’d like as long as it’s within 20 characters.

Was this page helpful?

Yes No

How can I create a group from a multi-person chat? toggle
To create a group from a multi-person chat room:

1. Tap Chats.
2. Open the relevant multi-person chat room.
3. Tap the V icon > Create group.
4. Set a name for the group, then tap Save.

Please note that messages exchanged in the multi-person chat will not be transferred to the group. To view those past messages, please check the multi-person chat room.

Was this page helpful?

Yes No

Help Center