LINE

FAQ

I receive the message “The account you are trying to add cannot accept any more friends.” toggle
There is a limit on the number of users you can add as a friend, and who can add you as a friend.

If the message “Sorry, the account you are trying to add cannot accept any more friends.” appears when you try to add a user, it means they cannot be added as a friend because they have already been added by too many other users.

Was this page helpful?

Yes No

Automatically adding friends from your contacts toggle
If you want to auto-add the contacts saved on your phone as friends, follow the steps below to configure your settings on your device and LINE.

To configure the privacy settings on your device:
1. Go to your device's Settings > Privacy > Contacts.
2. Turn LINE ON.

To auto-add friends on LINE:
1. Go to the Home/Friends or More tab and tap Settings.
2. Tap Friends.
3. Turn Auto-add friends ON.
Note: If Auto-add friends is already turned ON, tap the refresh icon next to the last auto-add date to manually sync your contacts.

Tap here to open the Settings menu from your smartphone.

If your contacts weren't added to your friend list, see this Help article.

Was this page helpful?

Yes No

Restoring removed friends toggle
If you have removed a friend and want to add them back to your friends list, you cannot use the auto add feature to do so.

Note: Even if you go to More > Settings > Friends, and tap the icon next to Last Auto Add, the friend will not be added back to your friends list.

Please add them manually using ID search, QR code, or “Shake it!”

See this link for information on how to add friends manually. 

Was this page helpful?

Yes No

My friend's account appears, but a different person is using it toggle
If you added the friend by syncing your contacts, their name will appear the same as in your phone's contacts list. 
Note: Their LINE display name will appear under their name in your contacts in a smaller font on the profile pop-up.

For this reason, if your friend cancels the phone number you have in your contacts, or if the number in your contacts is wrong, a different person (the current owner of that phone number) will be displayed on your LINE friends list under your friend’s name.

If any of the following cases apply, please check your friend’s phone number by contacting them using a means other than LINE. 

Issues happening on your device
• If an account with your name is appearing on your friends list, please check if you have yourself saved in your contacts with an old phone number.
• If a friend who does not use LINE is appearing on your friends list, please check if your friend’s phone number in your contacts is correct, and if you still have their old phone number.
• If the name of a friend on your friends list suddenly changed, please check if you have changed their name in your contacts.
• If you tried chatting with a friend, but they turned out to be a different friend, please check if you have added multiple phone numbers for that friend in your contacts.

Issues happening on your friend's device
• If you are told by a friend that they see your account even though you don’t have one, please check if your friend has an old phone number of yours in their contacts.
• If you signed up for a new phone number and were displayed as a friend on a stranger's LINE account, the stranger may have the previous owner of your phone number in their contacts.
• If another account with your name is displayed on your friend’s friends list, please check if your friend has an old phone number of yours in their contacts.

If someone you don't know is appearing in your friends list, please remove them after hiding or blocking them. For more information, please see the following Help article:

Was this page helpful?

Yes No

My friends don't appear toggle

If all of your friends have stopped appearing

You may have minimized your friend list. Please tap the light gray bar that says "Friends (number)" on the Friends tab to display them all again.

 

If only some of your friends have stopped appearing

It may be for one of the following reasons:

• They deleted their accounts

• You blocked, hid, or deleted their accounts

 

For the steps to unblock an account, see here

For the steps to unhide an account, see here.

Note: You cannot undo deleting a friend. In this case, please add them again.

 

If your friends and groups disappeared after transferring your account, see this Help article.

Was this page helpful?

Yes No

I have Auto-add friends turned ON, but my contact wasn't added toggle
If you have Auto-add friends turned ON but one of your contacts wasn't added to your friend list on LINE, check the information below.

Your contact's LINE account settings
A contact cannot be automatically added if:
• They turned OFF the "Allow others to add me" setting.
Note: Check to see if they appear in your Friend recommendations.
• They don't have a phone number registered to their LINE account.

Your LINE account settings
The contact might have been added to your Hidden accounts or Blocked users list.

To check:
1. Go to the Home/Friends or More tab and tap Settings.
2. Tap Friends.
3. Tap Hidden accounts or Blocked users.

If your contact appears in one of these lists, tap Unhide, or Edit > Unblock.
Note: You won't be able to check your contact's account if it was deleted from the Blocked users list.

If your contact is still not automatically added to your friend list after checking the above, see this Help article and add them manually.

Was this page helpful?

Yes No

Help Center
TOP