LINE

Help

FAQs

Unsending messages toggle
You can unsend a message within 24 hours of sending it. This removes the message so that it can no longer be seen by anyone in the chat where it was sent, even after it has been read. To unsend a message, just tap and hold it, then select Unsend.

Important: 
- Even if you unsend a message, everyone in the chat will still be able to see a notification saying that you unsent it.
- Anything (e.g. text messages, photos) deleted in a chat room cannot be unsent.
- We will not be able to recover or unsend anything deleted from a chat room.

You can unsend text messages, stickers, photos, videos, voice messages, songs shared from LINE MUSIC, URLs, contact information, location information, and files.
Note: This feature cannot be used for call histories from LINE version 9.16.0 and later for Android.

Was this page helpful?

Yes No

"This message can't be decrypted" appears and I can't see sent/received chat messages toggle
If you see any of the following messages after transferring your account on a smartphone, you may not be able to view past chat messages.

- "This message can't be decrypted"
- "This message wasn't backed up and restored from your previous device. Unfortunately, there's no way to read it on your current device."
- "Unable to display message as it couldn't be decrypted."

If any of these messages appear and you cannot view your past chat messages, there is unfortunately no way to re-display them. In this case, please ask the other person in the chat to send you any old messages that you need.

The messages above appear when:
• You transfer your account to a device with the same OS (e.g. iOS to iOS) without backing up and restoring your chat messages.
Note: To view old chat messages on a new device, you need to back them up in advance and restore them.
⋅You transfer your account to a device with a different OS (e.g. iOS to Android).
Note: If you transfer your account to a device with a different OS, you cannot transfer your past chat messages.
⋅You receive chat messages while transferring your account.
Note: Any chat messages you receive while transferring your account cannot be transferred to your new device.

Related Help article:

Was this page helpful?

Yes No

Logging in to LINE on your iPad or PC using your smartphone's unlock method toggle
See below for the steps to log in to LINE using your smartphone's unlock method.

When logging in to LINE with your smartphone's unlock method for the first time:
1. Start LINE for iPad or LINE for PC.
2. Enter the phone number registered to your LINE account and select Log in with smartphone.
3. Select Show verification code.
4. Start the smartphone version of LINE.
5. Select the Home tab > Settings > Account > Pair a new device.
6. Enter the six-digit verification code that appears on LINE for iPad or LINE for PC into your smartphone.
7. Use your smartphone's unlock method when prompted to do so.

When logging in after the first time:
1. Start LINE for iPad or LINE for PC.
2. Enter the phone number registered to your LINE account and select Log in with smartphone.
3. Start the smartphone version of LINE.
4. Use your smartphone's unlock method when prompted to do so.

"Login successful!" will appear when you're logged in. The LINE official account will also send a login notification message to you in the smartphone version of LINE.
Note: For details about the content of this notification, see this Help article.

For more information about your smartphone's unlock method, see this Help article.

For information on how to set up LINE so you can use your smartphone's unlock method for logging in, see this Help article.

Was this page helpful?

Yes No

Checking/changing your password toggle
Unfortunately, there is no way to directly check your registered password.

If you forgot your password, follow the steps below to change it.
Note: Be sure to write your new password down so you don’t forget it.

1. Tap the Home tab > Settings > Account.
2. Tap Password.
Note: If you're asked to unlock the screen, use the unlock method you have configured on your device, such as your passcode, PIN code, or biometric identification (e.g. fingerprint, face). Do not use the password registered to your LINE account.
3. Enter your new password twice, then tap Change password.

If you're viewing this article on your smartphone, tap here to go to the Account screen.

If you can’t remember your password and don't have access to your old device when transferring your LINE account, see this Help article.

Was this page helpful?

Yes No

Are Points included in the My Coins balance? toggle
The My Coins balance that appears on the sticker/theme/emoji purchase screen includes your purchased Coins and any Coins that you can get by exchanging your Points.

Points are exchanged for Coins at a rate of one Coin for every two Points.
Note: The exchange rate may differ depending on the country you're using LINE in. See this Help article for details.

For the steps to purchase stickers, themes, and emoji with Points, see this Help article.

Was this page helpful?

Yes No

Data that can be transferred toggle
For a list of what data can and cannot be transferred along with your account, please see below.

Data that can be transferred:
• Friends and groups
• Notes and albums
• Profile settings (profile photo, display name, status message, ID)
• Timeline/profile posts
• Content saved in Keep (excluding content in your Keep Memo chat)
• The right to use your LINE stickers and themes (including those received as gifts)
• Your purchase history of paid items, along with your Coin and LINE Point balances
• Data registered to authorized apps, including titles from LINE Games and LINE PLAY

Note:
- Coins cannot be transferred between different OSes (e.g. from iOS to Android and vice versa).
- If your friends, groups, or any other information disappeared after transferring your account, it may be due to one of the reasons described in this Help article.

Data that cannot be transferred:
• Chat history

Your chat history is not transferred with your account, so we recommend backing it up beforehand.

Was this page helpful?

Yes No

I got a message saying someone logged in to my LINE account on another device toggle
This message is sent when the information you registered on LINE is used to transfer or log in to your account.

Please see this Help article for details about checking what devices are logged in to your LINE account and LINE services.

If you received this message but aren't trying to log in, it means a third party is trying to log in to your LINE account using your email address and password.

Please refer to this Help article if you received a notification but don't remember logging in.

Was this page helpful?

Yes No

Phone numbers that cannot be verified toggle
You can only verify a phone number that can receive text messages or phone calls.

Landline phone numbers, numbers that start with 050, and virtual phone numbers cannot be used for verification, so be sure to use a phone number offered by a mobile service provider.
Note: If you verify a phone number that is already registered to another LINE account, the old account will be deleted.

Was this page helpful?

Yes No

Backing up and restoring chat histories toggle
If you're an iOS user:
You can use iCloud to back up your chats.

For details on how to back up your chats, see this Help article. For information on how to restore your chats, see this Help article.

If you're an Android user:
You can use Google Drive to back up your chats.

For details on how to back up and restore your chats, see this Help article.

Was this page helpful?

Yes No

I'm not receiving the verification code text message toggle
If you don't receive the verification code via text message, first check to make sure your phone number can be used for verification.

If your phone number can be verified but you're still not receiving the verification code text message, try selecting Resend code or Call me instead.
Note: For more information about the Call me instead option, see this Help article.

Was this page helpful?

Yes No

Category

Help Center
TOP