LINE

Hiding and deleting chats

Deleting chats toggle
You can delete chats by following the steps below.
Note: Chats cannot be restored after you delete them.

1. Tap the Chats tab > Edit.
2. Choose the chat you want to delete.
3. Tap Delete.

If you need to save your messages before deleting a chat, see the Help articles below on how to back up chat history:

Was this page helpful?

Yes No

Unsending messages toggle
You can unsend a message within 24 hours of sending it. This removes the message so that it can no longer be seen by anyone in the chat where it was sent, even after it has been read. To unsend a message, just tap and hold it, then select Unsend.

Important: 
- Even if you unsend a message, everyone in the chat will still be able to see a notification saying that you unsent it.
- Anything (e.g. text messages, photos) deleted in a chat room cannot be unsent.
- We will not be able to recover or unsend anything deleted from a chat room.

You can unsend text messages, stickers, photos, videos, voice messages, songs shared from LINE MUSIC, URLs, contact information, location information, files, and call histories.

Was this page helpful?

Yes No

I accidentally deleted a message instead of unsending it toggle
There is no way to unsend anything (e.g. text messages, photos) that has already been deleted from a chat.

Please also understand that LINE is unable to recover, delete, or unsend messages on your behalf.

Was this page helpful?

Yes No

Deleting chat messages toggle
You can delete messages in chats so they don't appear on your device anytime.
Important: Deleting messages by following the steps below will only delete them on your device, and they will still be visible to any other users in the chat room.

To delete a message:
1. Tap and hold the message you want to delete.
2. Tap Delete or Delete messages.
3. Tap Delete and confirm by tapping Delete once again.

You can unsend messages so that other users can no longer see them if 24 hours haven't passed since they were sent (regardless of whether they have been read or not). For more information about unsending messages, see this Help article.

Was this page helpful?

Yes No

Blocking LINE GAME messages toggle
To block messages from LINE GAME apps, please follow the steps below.

1. Go to the More or "..." tab > Settings > Notifications > Authorized Apps.
2. Tap the game you wish to block messages from.
3. Turn off Receive Messages and/or Receive Notifications.

If you turn off Receive Messages, you will not receive messages but will continue to receive any gifts your friends send you.

If you turn off Receive Notifications, you will still receive LINE messages, but will not be notified when they arrive.

Settings

Was this page helpful?

Yes No

Archiving chats toggle
To archive a chat, please follow the steps below.

1. Go to the Chats tab.
2. Tap the three dots at the top right, or Edit at the top left.
3. Select the chats you want to archive on the Edit Chat List, then tap Archive at the bottom right.



To view an archived chat again, please follow the steps below.

1-on-1 and Group Chats
1. Select the friend or group from the Friends tab.
2. Tap Chat on the pop-up.



If you cannot find the friend on your friends list because you have not added them, have deleted them, or they have deleted their account, you will not be able to view the chat again.

Multi-Person Chats
Ask one of your friends to send a message in the chat.

Was this page helpful?

Yes No

Preventing messages from strangers toggle
You can stop strangers from messaging you with the following steps.

1. On the More or Friends tab, tap Settings > Privacy.
2. Turn on the option for Filter messages.



With the Filter messages setting turned on, you will no longer receive messages from strangers, but you also will not receive messages from any acquaintances that are in your Friend recommendations.

Was this page helpful?

Yes No

Help Center
TOP