Issues when transferring your account
Your password setup code will be sent in a chat message to the LINE account you're trying to transfer. Please start LINE on your previous device and check the password setup code in the message you received.
Note: If you're using the LINE account you want to transfer on LINE for PC or iPad in addition to your smartphone, you can also check for the chat message there.
If you can't confirm the password setup code, there will be no way to transfer your LINE account. In this case, please sign up for a new account.
If your account is not successfully transferred, your friends, groups, and other data will be deleted.
Note: For more information about your friends and groups disappearing after transferring your account, see this Help article.
Even if your account data is lost, we may be able to transfer your purchased stickers and some other types of paid items if you contact us. To do so, please create a LINE account and send an inquiry from the following link:
The following can be transferred:
• The right to use your LINE stickers and themes (including those received as gifts)
• Your item purchase history and Coin balance
Note: Coins cannot be transferred between different OSes (e.g. from iOS to Android and vice versa).
• Your Credit balance purchased from LINE STORE
Note: Any account data that is not mentioned above (including your friends, chat history, and groups) cannot be transferred.
If you lost LINE Game items or data, please send an inquiry from within the relevant game app.
Please make sure that:
• Your password doesn't include any unnecessary spaces.
• You entered only half-width characters.
• You didn't accidentally enter a similar looking character.
- 1 (one), I (capital 'i'), and l (lower-case 'L')
- 0 (zero), o (alphabet 'O')
- 9 (nine), q (lower-case 'Q')
• You entered the password correctly.
If you've checked everything above but still see an error message, please try resetting your password and then entering it again.
Note: You will not be able to reset your password if you didn't register an email address to your LINE account.
For the steps to reset your password when transferring your account, please see this Help article.
For iOS users:
If an error message appears when you restore data from iTunes or iCloud, please see this Help article.
Please see the instructions below the relevant error message that appears when you try transferring your account.
• Unable to sign up.
• An unknown error occurred. Please try again later.
• Verification is temporarily blocked. Please try again later.
Try again one to two days after the error occurs.
• Invalid password.
• We couldn't find any accounts registered to the email address you entered.
• Please enter a valid email address.
• Invalid email address or password.
Please refer to this Help article for details.
• Invalid phone number.
Please refer to this Help article for details.
If you select Log in with Facebook and you see the error message "Failed to connect with external services. Please try again later," it's possible that the Facebook account you tried to log in with was different from the one registered to your LINE account. Please try logging in again after checking your Facebook account registered to LINE.
If you see this error message even though you didn't enter your Facebook login information, log out of your Facebook account from your device's web browser and the Facebook app, then try logging in with Facebook again.
The following are a few examples of being unable to use LINE after restoring from an iTunes or iCloud backup:
• An error appears and you can't use LINE.
• An old email address appears and you can’t use your account.
• You're not receiving the account transfer code.
• Entering your passcode doesn't unlock the app.
• The login screen repeatedly appears.
If you experience any of the above after restoring from an iTunes or iCloud backup, you may be able to resolve the issue by uninstalling LINE, and then reinstalling it from the App Store.
After reinstalling LINE, transfer your account by referring to the following Help article:
If you’re able to use LINE on your previous device, try transferring your account after checking the information in the links below:
If you want to transfer your chat history, see this Help article.
If your friends and groups disappeared after transferring your account, it means that you did one of the following:
• Created a new account instead
• Transferred a different account by mistake
In either of the above cases, the account you had been using before will become inaccessible, and your data (including your friends and groups) will be deleted. We're sorry to say that this data cannot be restored.
Note: The same phone number and Facebook account can't be registered to multiple LINE accounts. If you use a phone number or Facebook account that’s already registered to LINE to create a new account or transfer a different one, the previous registration will be undone and the old account will become inaccessible.
Even if your old account data is lost, you can still continue using your purchased items, LINE Pay balance, LINE Points, and other billing information. For the steps to redownload your purchased items, please see this Help article.
For other issues with Timeline or your profile, try the general solutions in this Help article.