When you request a verification code, the LINE app will send you one via text message or phone call.
These verification codes are sent out using a system designated by LINE. The phone number used may appear as either a domestic or overseas number.
If you requested the verification code:
Please proceed with the verification process using the code that was sent to you.
If you received a verification code but didn't request one:
It’s possible someone entered your phone number by mistake. In this case, please disregard the text message or phone call.
Important: Even if you did not request a verification code, be sure to never share this code with anyone.
If the phone number you use for verification has been registered to a LINE account before, the name registered to that account will appear. This lets you make sure the LINE account is yours before transferring it.
If the LINE account that appears isn't yours, please tap No, that's not me.
If you don't receive the verification code via text message, first check to make sure your phone number can be used for verification.
If your phone number can be verified but you're still not receiving the verification code text message, try selecting Resend code or Call me instead.
Note: For more information about the Call me instead option, see this Help article.
If an error message appears during the verification process, try restarting the app and your device. Staying on the verification screen for too long can cause an error message to appear when you try to proceed.
You may also be able to resolve the issue by checking the steps to create a new account in this Help article.
If the error message still appears after trying the suggestions above, contact us via the Inquiry Form.
You can only verify a phone number that can receive text messages or phone calls.
Landline phone numbers, numbers that start with 050, and virtual phone numbers cannot be used for verification, so be sure to use a phone number offered by a mobile service provider.
Note: If you verify a phone number that is already registered to another LINE account, the old account will be deleted.