When you perform the operations listed below, LINE accesses information in your device's contacts to make it easy to find your close friends. (Only the telephone numbers in your contact information are transferred to our servers, and all of the information is encrypted.)•
When you sign up for LINE and select OK
at the “Your Address Book will be sent to LINE’s server” prompt.•
When you turn ON Auto-add friends
in your settings or tap the refresh icon next to Last auto-add
and select OK
at the “Your Address Book will be sent to LINE’s server” prompt.
LINE adds mutual contacts in your device's contacts to your friend list automatically. If only one of you has the other added as a contact, the one who has the contact information on their device will be added to the other's Friend recommendations, and the recommended person will be added to the other's friend list.
Your own phone number and phone numbers obtained from your device's contacts will not be disclosed and will be protected as follows:•
Your contact information will be used only if you agree to the terms & conditions of LINE when signing up. The terms and conditions describe when and how LINE will use your personal information.•
If you agree to allow LINE to find your friends, the telephone numbers in your device's contacts will be encrypted and securely sent to our servers.•
We use encrypted text when comparing your information with existing user information.
Let us know if we can make it better.