LINE

Help

About Friends

The Basics

Changing a friend's display name toggle
The display names that your friends set for themselves will appear on LINE for PC. If you want to change a friend's display name, follow the steps below.
Note:
- This will also change the way their display name appears on the smartphone version of LINE.
- This will not change the way their display name appears on their own LINE account or the accounts of other users.

LINE for Windows or Mac:
1. Click Friends (the silhouette icon) on the main menu.
2. Right-click the friend whose display name you want to change.
3. Click Change friend’s name.
4. Enter a name and click the check mark.

LINE for Chrome:
1. Open your chat room with the friend whose display name you want to change.
2. Click your friend's icon at the top of the chat room.
3. Click Edit (the pencil icon) next to your friend's display name.
4. Enter a new display name and press the Enter key.

Was this page helpful?

Yes No

How do I block a user on my Friends list? toggle
1. Click on Friends menu.
2. Right-click on the friend you wish to block.
3. Click Block.

Was this page helpful?

Yes No

Creating groups on LINE for PC toggle
You can create a group using either of the methods below.

Create a group from the Add friends screen:
1. From the main menu, click Add friends.
2. Click Create a group.
3. Select the friends you want to add and click Next.
4. Enter a name, set a profile photo, and then click Create.

Create a group from your chat list:
1. From the main menu, click Chats.
2. At the bottom of your chat list, click the speech bubble > Group.
3. Select the friends you want to add and click Next.
4. Enter a name, set a profile photo, and then click Create.

If the Members join automatically setting is turned off, the friends you invite won't become official group members until they select Join in their invitation.

For the steps to create a group from a multi-person chat, see this Help article.

Was this page helpful?

Yes No

Deleting friends toggle
To delete someone from your friend list, you need to block or hide them first.
Note: If you want to send someone a message after deleting them, you'll need to add them as a friend again.

For the steps to block or hide someone, please see the following Help articles:


To delete a friend:
1. Click "..." > Settings > Friends.
2. Move the mouse cursor over the person you want to delete under the Blocked or Hidden Friends list, then click Delete.
3. After reading the pop-up message, click OK.
Note: Even if you delete someone, you cannot delete yourself from their friend list.

You can still receive messages from users deleted from the Hidden Friends list. If you do not want to receive messages or voice calls from another user, please block them before deleting them.

Was this page helpful?

Yes No

Preventing others from adding you as a friend toggle
If you don’t want people that know your phone number to automatically add you as a friend, turn OFF Allow others to add me.

You can only configure this setting when signing up for an account on LINE for PC. If you want to configure this setting after you signed up for an account, delete it and sign up once again.

If you signed up for LINE on a smartphone, you can check and change this setting. From the smartphone version of LINE, go to Settings > Friends, and turn OFF Allow others to add me.

Was this page helpful?

Yes No

Deleting a group and group members toggle
A group will be deleted once everyone in it has left.

If there are still some members left in a group, you'll need to delete them.

You can delete other members by following the steps below.
Note: You won't need the following if you're the only one left in the group.

1. From the main menu, click Friends.
2. Right-click the group you want to edit.
3. Click Edit this Group > Members.
4. Click the x mark next to the group member’s names.
5. Click OK.

After all other members have been removed, select Leave this Group to remove yourself and delete the group.

Was this page helpful?

Yes No

Hiding friends toggle
When you hide a friend on LINE:
- You'll still be able to receive messages from them.
- They will appear in Hidden Friends instead of your friend list.
- Updated profile and Timeline posts will still appear.
- They will not be completely deleted from your friend list.

For steps on how to delete a friend, see this Help article.

To hide a friend:
1. From the main menu, click Friends.
2. Right-click the friend you want to hide.
3. Click Hide.

Was this page helpful?

Yes No

Leaving groups toggle
Leaving a group will not delete any chat messages, albums, or photos that you shared in it. If there is anything you want to delete from a group, make sure to do so before leaving it.

When a group member deletes their LINE account or leaves a group, a message appears in the chat saying "XXXX left the group."

To leave a group: 
1. Tap the menu icon at the top of the group chat screen > Leave.
2. Click Leave.

If every member leaves, all of the content posted in the group will be deleted and cannot be restored.

Was this page helpful?

Yes No

What do other users see when I decline a group invitation? toggle
If you decline a group invitation, you will still be displayed as a pending member in the group.

To have yourself completely removed from the group, the friend who invited you needs to cancel your invitation by clicking "X" next to your name in the Pending list.

Was this page helpful?

Yes No

About the Members must accept invite setting toggle
The Members join automatically setting lets you choose whether the friends you invite to a group are added automatically, or asked if they would like to join first.

If Members join automatically is turned on:
The friends you invite will automatically be added to the group.

If Members join automatically is turned off:
The friends you invite will receive an invitation message, from which they can choose to Join or Decline.
Note:
- If someone declines, they will continue to appear as a pending member, and the person who created the group will not be notified. 
- If you create a group with this setting turned off, you will not be able to turn it on afterwards.
- For more information on how friends that decline a group invitation appear to other group members, see this Help article.

Was this page helpful?

Yes No

Help Center
TOP