LINE

Help

Hiding and deleting chats

How can I delete sent messages? toggle
You can delete chat room messages from appearing on your device anytime.
Important: Deleting a message will not remove it from another user's device, and they will still be able to see it in the chat room. 

To delete a message:
1. Tap and hold the message you want to delete.
2. Tap Delete.
3. Tap Delete at the bottom of the screen, and then confirm by tapping Delete once again.

If you don't want others to see a message you sent, you can unsend a message within 24 hours of sending it. For more details, see this Help article.

Was this page helpful?

Yes No

Will other people know if I delete a message or chat room? toggle

No one will be notified if you delete a message or chat room.

 

However, if a message is unsent, everyone will be able to see a notice saying “~ unsent a message” in the chat room.

Was this page helpful?

Yes No

Unsending messages toggle
You can remove a message within 24 hours of sending it. To do so, just tap and hold the message, then select Unsend. Even if the message was read, this will remove it from the devices of everyone in the chat room.

Important
- Everyone will still be able to see a notice that shows you removed a message. 
- In order to unsend messages, you need to use one of the following LINE versions:
• LINE version 7.17.0 or later for iOS (on iPad as well)
• LINE version 7.16.0 or later for Android
• LINE version 5.4.0 or later for Windows and Mac

- Keep in mind that your messages will not be unsent from another person’s device if they are using an older version of LINE listed below:
• LINE versions earlier than 5.2.2 for iOS (earlier than 5.9.5 for iPad)
• LINE versions earlier than 6.5.0, as well as 7.15.0 and 7.15.1 for Android
• LINE versions earlier than 5.4.0 for Windows and Mac

With the proper version of LINE you can unsend text messages, stickers, photos, videos, voice messages, song posts shared from LINE MUSIC, URLs, contact information, location information, files, and call histories.

Was this page helpful?

Yes No

Blocking LINE GAME messages toggle
To block messages from LINE GAME apps, please follow the steps below.

1. Go to the More or "..." tab > Settings > Notifications > Authorized Apps.
2. Tap the game you wish to block messages from.
3. Turn off Receive Messages and/or Receive Notifications.

If you turn off Receive Messages, you will not receive messages but will continue to receive any gifts your friends send you.

If you turn off Receive Notifications, you will still receive LINE messages, but will not be notified when they arrive.

Settings

Was this page helpful?

Yes No

Archiving chats toggle
To archive a chat, please follow the steps below.

1. Go to the Chats tab.
2. Tap the three dots at the top right, or Edit at the top left.
3. Select the chats you want to archive on the Edit Chat List, then tap Archive at the bottom right.



To view an archived chat again, please follow the steps below.

1-on-1 and Group Chats
1. Select the friend or group from the Friends tab.
2. Tap Chat on the pop-up.



If you cannot find the friend on your friends list because you have not added them, have deleted them, or they have deleted their account, you will not be able to view the chat again.

Multi-Person Chats
Ask one of your friends to send a message in the chat.

Was this page helpful?

Yes No

Preventing messages from strangers toggle
You can stop strangers from messaging you with the following steps.

1. On the More or Friends tab, tap Settings > Privacy.
2. Turn on the option for Filter messages.



With the Filter messages setting turned on, you will no longer receive messages from strangers, but you also will not receive messages from any acquaintances that are in your Friend recommendations.

Was this page helpful?

Yes No

Help Center