LINE

Group basics

Deleting groups or group members toggle
A group is deleted automatically when all its members have left. If there are still members in a group, follow the steps below to delete them first.

1. Tap the menu icon at the top of the group chat screen > Members.
2. Tap Edit at the top right of the screen.
3. Tap the Delete button next to the member you want to delete.
4. Tap OK.

After all of the other members have been deleted, you can delete the group by leaving it. For the steps to leave a group, see this Help article.

Was this page helpful?

Yes No

I can't create multi-person chats toggle
Multi-person chats have been integrated into group chats, so you can now use the Notes and Albums features that were previously unavailable in multi-person chats.

If you want to create a group that doesn't require permission from members to join (like a multi-person chat), turn ON Members join automatically when creating a group chat.

If you have any existing multi-person chats, you can continue using them.

For the steps to create a group from a multi-person chat, see this Help article.

For the steps to create a new group, see this Help article.

Was this page helpful?

Yes No

Creating groups toggle
To create a group:
1. Tap the Home/Friends tab > Add friends (the silhouette icon) > Create group.
2. Select the friends you want to add as members, then tap Next.
3. Enter a group name, then tap Create.
Note:
-The friends you invite won't become group members until they select Join in their invitation.
- Group names can be up to 50 characters long.
- You can update to the latest version of LINE here.

Was this page helpful?

Yes No

Inviting new members to a group toggle
To invite new members to a group: 
1. Tap the menu icon at the top of the chat screen > Invite.
2. Select the friends you want to invite and tap Invite.
Note: Friends who have already been invited or are already in the group will appear grayed out.

Was this page helpful?

Yes No

Maximum friends per group toggle
You can invite up to 499 friends per group, excluding yourself.

Was this page helpful?

Yes No

Canceling group invitations toggle
To cancel a group invitation: 
1. Tap the menu icon at the top of the group chat screen > Members.
2. Under Pending members, tap the member whose invitation you want to cancel.
3. Tap Cancel.

To remove members from a group created with the Members join automatically setting turned on, follow the steps in this Help article.

Was this page helpful?

Yes No

Accidentally declining a group invitation toggle
If you want to be invited to the group again, please tell a member to cancel your invitation and then invite you again.

Was this page helpful?

Yes No

Viewing group notes and albums toggle
To view a group's notes and albums: 
1. Tap the Home tab > Groups > the group of your choice.
2. Tap Notes or Albums.

The number next to the profile icons shows how many members posted photos in the album. Tap this number to see the photos each member added.

Was this page helpful?

Yes No

Posting group notes toggle
To post a group note: 
1. Tap the Home tab > Groups > the group of your choice.
2. Tap Notes.
3. Tap "+" at the bottom right of the screen > Write.
4. Tap What's new? and write your note, then tap Post.

If you want to post a photo, you can do so using the Albums feature, which is specifically for posting and viewing photos.

Was this page helpful?

Yes No

My group notes appear on my Timeline, but can my LINE friends see them too? toggle
Group notes on your Timeline are only visible to members of the group. Non-members will not be able to see them.

Was this page helpful?

Yes No

Deleting group notes or comments/likes posted on group notes toggle
To delete a group note, follow the steps below.
Note: You can only delete group notes that you created.

1. Tap the Home tab > Groups > the group of your choice.
2. Tap Notes.
3. Tap "..." at the top right of the note you want to delete.
4. Tap Delete > Delete.

A comment on a note can only be deleted by the person who posted it or the creator of the note. To unlike a post, just tap the Like icon again.

If you rejoin a group with a different LINE account, you won't be able to delete any notes, "likes," or comments made by your previous account.

Was this page helpful?

Yes No

Leaving groups toggle
Your chat messages, notes, albums, and photos will not be deleted if you leave a group. If there is anything you want to delete, make sure to do so before leaving the group.

When a group member deletes their account or leaves the group, a message appears saying "XXXX left the group."

To leave a group:
1. Tap the menu icon at the top of the group chat screen > Leave.
2. Tap OK.

If every member leaves, all of the content posted in the group will be deleted and cannot be restored.

Was this page helpful?

Yes No

What do other users see when I decline a group invitation? toggle
If you decline a group invitation, you will still be displayed as a pending member in the group. To have yourself completely removed from the group, the friend who invited you needs to cancel your invitation

Was this page helpful?

Yes No

Can a new member in a group view the posts made in it before they joined? toggle
When a user joins a group, they can view Note and Album posts that were made during the time their membership was pending, but will not be able to see any chat messages posted before they joined.

Was this page helpful?

Yes No

Deleting notes by previous group members toggle
You cannot delete notes by members who have left a group. 

Was this page helpful?

Yes No

Joining groups toggle
To join a group you've been invited to: 
1. Tap the Home tab > GroupsGroup invitations > the group name.
2. Tap Join.

Was this page helpful?

Yes No

Setting a group cover photo toggle
To set a group cover photo:
1. Tap the Home tab > the group you want to set a cover photo for.
2. Tap and hold the cover photo, then tap Select group cover photo.
3. Select a photo, trim it, and tap Next.
4. Edit the photo any way you like, then tap Done.

Was this page helpful?

Yes No

About the Members join automatically setting toggle
The Members join automatically setting lets you choose whether the friends you invite to a group are added automatically, or asked if they would like to join first.

If Members join automatically is turned on:
The friends you invite will automatically be added to the group.

If Members join automatically is turned off:
The friends you invite will receive an invitation message, from which they can choose to Join or Decline.
Note:
- If someone declines, they will continue to appear as a pending member, and the person who created the group will not be notified. 
- If you create a group with this setting turned off, you will not be able to turn it on afterwards.
- For more information on how friends that decline a group invitation appear to other group members, see this Help article.

Was this page helpful?

Yes No

Help Center
TOP