LINE

Friend Security

If only I know the other person's phone number, can the other person see my profile? toggle
If a person with your mobile phone number registered in their contacts list starts LINE, they will automatically be added to your friends list. If you do not wish to automatically add friends, please turn off Auto Add Friends on your smartphone.

If your phone number is not registered in their contacts list, you appear under their Friends Recommendations, where your LINE Display name, profile photo, Status Message, and Home background image will be displayed. However, they will not be able to see any other information.

If you want to be deleted from their Friend Recommendations list, you must delete your account from your smartphone.

Likewise, once your account has been added to their friends list, you will remain there unless you delete your own account.

For information on deleting your account, please see this article.

Was this page helpful?

Yes No

I do not want to be automatically added as a friend to others who have my phone number. toggle
To prevent being automatically added to the friends lists of other LINE users who have your phone number, please go through the following steps on your smartphone:

iOS and Android users:
1. Go to More or tap the three dots.
2. Tap Settings > Friends.
3. Turn OFF Allow Others to Add.

Firefox Phone users:
1. Tap the settings icon on the main menu.
2. Tap Friends.
3. Switch OFF Allow Others to Add.

If you wish to remove a user whom you have already added as a friend, please see this article.

Was this page helpful?

Yes No

Can other people view my Friends list? toggle
Please be assured that no other users can view your Friends list.

Was this page helpful?

Yes No

Someone is impersonating my friend on LINE. toggle
If you select to send your contacts list data from your smartphone to LINE’s servers upon registering to LINE, the phone numbers in your contacts list will be used to search other friends who are LINE users. If we find those users, they will appear in your friends list under the names registered in your contacts list.

Therefore, if a user is no longer using the phone number that is saved in your contacts list, a third party may appear on your friends list under the name that is registered in your contacts list. 

Please check if you have multiple entries for the same friend or whether you have a friend's old phone number or email address still registered in your contacts list.

Was this page helpful?

Yes No

Filtering messages from non-friends toggle
To filter messages from users who are not your friends, please follow the steps below.

1. Tap the settings icon > Privacy.
2. Turn ON Filter Messages.

Was this page helpful?

Yes No

Blocking friend recommendations toggle
You can block messages from users on your Friend Recommendations list by following the steps below.

1. Tap the friends icon > add friends icon.
2. Tap the user you wish to block.
3. Tap Block.

It may take a while for the changes to take effect.

Was this page helpful?

Yes No

Blocking friends toggle
The following happens when you block a friend.
- You will no longer receive chat messages or voice and video calls from them.
- They will be moved from your friends list to your Blocked Users list.

Blocking a user does not completely remove them from your friends or friend recommendations list. To do so, please see the following article.

To block a friend
1. Tap the friends icon.
2. Swipe to the left the friend you want to block.
3. Tap the Block button.

To unblock a friend
1. Tap the settings icon > Friends.
2. Tap Blocked Users.
3. Tap Edit to the friend you want to show again.
4. Tap Unblock.

It may take a while for the changes to take effect.

Was this page helpful?

Yes No

Removing friends toggle
Removing a friend deletes them from your friends list, and unlike blocking, cannot be undone. Please be careful when removing a friend you cannot contact otherwise.

Before you remove a friend, you need to hide or block them. To see more details, please see the following articles.


To remove a friend
1. Tap the settings icon > Friends.
2. Tap Hidden Users or Blocked Users.
3. Tap Edit next to the friend you wish to remove.
4. Tap Remove.

Was this page helpful?

Yes No

Help Center
TOP